macbook wont wake up

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by wanda, Aug 19, 2006.

  1. wanda macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Location:
    In a van down by the river
    #1
    howdy. after much contemplating i finally swtiched to mac and so for have been digging everything about OS X. My only problem is that my occasionaly my macbook doesn't want to wake up. typically i should be able to open the lid, hit a key, or hit the mouse (kensington blue tooth) and it should fire right back up right? well three times now in the past week, (i've only had it for two weeks) i've tried to wake it up and i get nothing. i've done everything that should wake it up but the screen stays black and the light on the front of the mac, which usually is pulsating when asleep, is on full bright. i've reset the power settings with the help of apple care, and also de-selected "put hard disk to sleep when possible" but it hasn't seemed to help. again this only happens occasionaly. any thoughts?
     
  2. somewhatstunned macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    #2
    I find sometimes that certain applications choke the wake up. I've noticed it a couple of times with X11 apps. So one thing to look at is what are you running when you put him to sleep? Try eliminating them one at a time and see if you can identify the problematic one.

    On the other hand, you may have a hardware problem.
     
  3. regan2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    hyde park, ny
    #3
    the only sure fire way to wake it up is to hit a key while it's asleep. bluetooth is a no-go and the lid should work, but doesn't always.

    i'll second the other posters' advice, and then if still no success, take it to an apple store and try to replicate.

     
  4. stubeeef macrumors 68030

    stubeeef

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    #4
    Sorry Wanda, don't know the answer either, I did a search for other threads and noticed one with the same problem. It had zero responses.
    Can you tell us what settings you have in the Sys Pref > energy saver?
     
  5. jbusc macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    #5
    This might be what happens to me occasionally. I fix it by closing the lid, waiting for a second, then opening again. Then it comes out of sleep properly. It's not really that frequent, just a couple of times it's happened.
     
  6. stubeeef macrumors 68030

    stubeeef

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    #6
    PLEA for HELP

    Wanda is a relative that I recently switched. Till very recently he was very happy. This sleep problem is also a problem with his Kensington Bluetooth mouse, it won't work although it sees it, and whenever he puts the cursor over the finder menu (top menu bar) he gets a beachball. This has caused big frustration today and I don't want him to, I want him to have the experience I have.
    He is a pilot and is going on a trip tonight, and not happy about his macbook. He is running the latest version of 10.4 and all the other updates. He had a beachball during a bluescreen shutdown and it wouldn't shutdown either.
    I am frustrated for him, we had to do a hard shutdown and I have told him to disable sleep first thing on startup. I think he has a bad macbook, but I am not an expert mac geek though.
    Please help my new switching family member!:cool:
     
  7. srf4real macrumors 68030

    srf4real

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    paradise beach FL
    #7
    I used to have a similar problem that I traced to a bad RAM upgrade in my g3. Is it factory sealed from apple? My computer would sleep even when I disabled sleep, not wake up, not restart, etc. I had a 512Mb chip in it when it could only read 256Mb of the chip. Removed RAM upgrade, everything still works great.
     
  8. stubeeef macrumors 68030

    stubeeef

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    #8
    When you looked at system in About this Mac, did it only show 256?
    He has a factory (stock) mb, the $1099 version. I will have him check it in the morning.
    Still want more ideas though! Thanks and keep'em coming!;)
     
  9. count chocula macrumors 6502a

    count chocula

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Location:
    noun. a particular place or position
    #9
    sorry, i have no idea. this has never happened with mine, but i did notice it happened with a few macbooks at an apple store. maybe try resetting pram.
     
  10. srf4real macrumors 68030

    srf4real

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    paradise beach FL
    #10
    Yes, actually it showed the total of factory RAM (64Mb) plus 256Mb in slot two where the 512 was; total of 320Mb. Helped the speed of my apps when I could get the darn thing to come on!
    Now the iMac is retired to the garage and only runs iTunes and 96Mb is sufficient...
     
  11. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #11
    my macbook didnt sleep or wake when the lid was opened or shut, and it turned out to be a misaligned sleep magnet. In any case, take it back and see what they think, because it's unacceptable to have a machine which doesn't work.
     
  12. stubeeef macrumors 68030

    stubeeef

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    #12
    Thanks SF that is an interesting one, he plans on dropping it off at an apple store soon.
     
  13. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #13
    My wife's MB was crashing while trying to wake, before the backlight of the LCD came on. Try shining a flashlight through the apple to see if you can make out the multilingual "you must restart" screen.

    The fix in our case was a <Rod Roddy Voice>...BRAND...NEW....LOGIC BOARD!</Rod Roddy Voice>
     
  14. wanda thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Location:
    In a van down by the river
    #14
    thanks for all the advice...i was starting to think it was just me.

    the computer says its running with 512ram but still i'm taking it in to see what they can figure out. seems like the problem mostly occurs when it is plugged into the power adapter. besides the mouse not wanting to "get along" with the mac, it also dropped the linksys network twice. so i reset all the router settings and got back on, after the mouse fiasco and another restart guess what? no net work is found even though it shows me connected to the @#$ing network!!

    the bottom line is it's going back, either in the box it came in or in pieces. (no of course i wouldn't do that)

    stubeef, you'll appreciate this: about 1am somewhere over nebraska at 370 and the damn uns 1k freezes up on me, so i give a few minutes but get no repsonse. captain looks at it, presses the same button i had been pressing and what do you know, its all better now. i could have punched someone.
     
  15. wanda thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Location:
    In a van down by the river
    #15
    just happened again. after the last post i closed the lid and everything seemed normal. just opened the lid and got the "connection lost" from the mouse...then got a "i need to restart or shut down the computer"...it was written in several languages.

    shut down, restart, then says "mac was unexpectedly shut down" and i clicked view report but got none.
     

Share This Page