macbookpro cd drive

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by santangelo, Nov 28, 2006.

  1. santangelo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #1
    Has anyone every had this problem:

    when insert a cd to install software on the mac i cant open the installer i have also tried to copy the installer to the hard drive but still now luck.

    is there a setting that i may of switched ? i am also the main account holder on the macbookpro
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  3. santangelo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #3
    no all music apps

    the funny thing is it use to work as ive installed these before, just i have only got it back from repair as the sceen had a faint line accross the middle now this


    i was hoping its just a setting they may of turned on while it was at the store getting fixed
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Hmm... If you tell us the app names, we might be able to help further. Do any CD-based installers work or are you just having trouble with a few? :)
     
  5. santangelo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #5
    having trouble with them all

    reaktor 5
    stylus RMX

    wont even play the demo disc that comes along with a music cd yet my powermac G5 does all the discs
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Weirdness. Okay, just let me confirm some things. Firstly, the CD shows up in Finder and lets you drag the installer to the Desktop. However, neither running it from the CD nor the Desktop can happen. Do you get a dialogue box telling you an error code? Try installing from a non-CD package (PKG) such as iTunes downloaded from Apple or something. :)
     
  7. santangelo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #7
    hey thanks for you help mad jew but i took it to the local mac store and they have said re install the osx and it should be fine as they started it up for there hard disc and all the installers work.
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Cool. Well, do an Archive & Install because it'll keep most of your settings and everything backed up. Of course, that's only if they didn't tell you otherwise. :)
     

Share This Page