MacBookPro DVI output problem

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by zullf, Oct 28, 2006.

  1. zullf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Sarajevo, BiH
    #1
    I purchased MBP to use it, among other things, for VJing. A lot of great VJ software is available for both OS X and Windows platform and i use it both.
    I purchased DVI to S-video adapter and connected MBP with projector and it worked perfectly well.. Then I switched to Windows and tried to get the same thing but I couldn't get anything on projector. I guessed that it could be something wrong with adapter so I tried to connect regular monitor directly to MBP DVI out and it didn't work as well... Got back to OS X and it worked perfectly.
    Under windows, when i plug DVI adapter to DVI out, it recognize "something" and it allows me to add secondary display in graphic card settings but doesn't output anything. I tried to replace original ATI drivers with Omega alternative but that doesn't make any difference...

    Anybody had similar problems? Is this driver/compatibility problem or it's just my MBP?
    Any solutions?
    Thanx!
     
  2. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #2
    Driver compatibility issue - multimonitor doesn't always work properly. You may be able to get it to work by playing around with the display controls in Windows by switching off/on 'extend my desktop onto this monitor' and other controls. For full compatibility, you may have to wait until Leopard.
     
  3. zullf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Sarajevo, BiH
    #3
    Under OS X it works perfect in multi-monitor mode but there is a problem with Windows... I wonder if anybody stumbled upon a solution: some other ATI driver alternative or settings combination.
     
  4. zullf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Sarajevo, BiH
    #4
    does anybody know if firmware upgrade or another version of bootcamp could solve the problem?

    it would help if anybody of "proud" MBP owners could just try to connect the second monitor under windows and post here if it works?

    Thanx a lot!
     
  5. autoy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #5
    In the ATI control panel there should be a setting to turn on the TV out (it looks like a power switch in red) on top of a TV image. Once on and applied settings press the TV button on the right of the power switch and change your external display settings to match the signal. Hope this helps.
     
  6. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #6
    I have got it to work but just not very reliably. A reboot usually screws things up or something like that. It might be fixed in the next Boot Camp, or as I said you may have to wait until Leopard.
     

Share This Page