macdraw or paint for osx?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by guyute, Sep 9, 2004.

1. guyute macrumors member

I am kind of new to the mac platform but when I used macs years ago I believe they had a program call draw or something. I would like to know what is available for osx since no such program seems to be on my power mac. Any help would be great.

2. FuzzyBallz macrumors 6502a

FuzzyBallz

Damn MacDraw is from the Apple II days.

If you got the money, Adobe Photoshop's a reference to go by in terms of graphics application.

3. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

Duff-Man

Duff-Man says...hmm...I would say that Photoshop is more of a photo-manipulation tool than a draw/paint program. If you want a photoshop-like tool, didn't your Powermac come with a license for Graphic Converter?

There's a program called Teal which is still in beta/development but is free...might want to give that look. If you are loking for higher end tools then Canvas may be what you are after....as always, searching for stuff over at Version Tracker can lead to some easy quick answers....oh yeah!

4. jsw Moderator emeritus

jsw

OmniGraffle is a start and is included with all new PowerMacs. Is yours new or an older one?

5. jsw Moderator emeritus

jsw

Also, if you install the Developer tools (on the disks which came with your system, or downloadable from http://developer.apple.com), you'll find an example program in Developer->Examples->AppKit->Sketch called (of course) Sketch. You'll need to build it by double-clicking on 'Sketch.pbxproj', which opens up Xcode, and then clicking "Build", but you'll then have a handy dandy MacPaint upgrade (to be found in Developer->Examples->AppKit->Sketch->build) free of charge. 204KB. Nice little app. PM me with an email address if you'd like it sent to you - I don't think that'd be a problem, as it's a free part of the freely downloadable developer tools.

6. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

Duff-Man