macdrive

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by rayrayjewels, Jun 7, 2006.

  1. rayrayjewels macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    #1
    i feel like this may be a really stupid question,
    nonetheless, i am asking it.
    i have bootcamp on my macbook pro primarily to run autocad which lives on the windows side.
    i have adobe cs2 on my mac side and it would be great if i could open photoshop when i am working on my windows side.
    i have macdrive and was wondering if it was possible to convert the program???
    :confused:
    thanks!
     
  2. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    That's not quite what MacDrive does. It really just lets you access files on the Mac partition. It doesn't give the Windows side the ability to run programs.

    With Adobe, traditionally, you can call them and transfer your license for a small fee (I think ~$25) from Mac to Windows. But I don't think that gives you the right to run both versions, and even if you could, you would have to install it twice (once on each partition).

    I'm not sure how well it will handle Autocad, but you might try Parallels instead of BootCamp. In that case you can get back and forth between OSes with a flick of the mouse.
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Not possible. That's not what MacDrive does.

    MacDrive just allows Windows to recognize HFS+

    Your Mac version of Adobe CS2 is still compiled for Mac OS X, not Windows (it's not a Windows executable).

    EDIT: beaten. oh snap.
     
  5. rayrayjewels thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    #5

    hmm, i'm not sure that autocad works in parallels?? there is a grahics card driver issue... unless its been worked out recently??
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    No, doy! :eek:

    Like you can even pretend to believe that I would resist the impulse?

    To try to redeem this post, I'll point out that there seem to be some users very happily munching along with AutoCAD on Parallels.
     
  7. rayrayjewels thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    #7

    i think there is mainly an issue with 3dcad in parallels.
     

Share This Page