Macintosh HD Disapeared...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by billchase2, Apr 21, 2006.

  1. billchase2 macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #1
    so i just restarted my computer... and when i did, my Macintosh HD icon vanished. when i use tinkertool and select "show hidden and system files" and relaunch finder... it appears again. as soon as i deselect that and restart the finder, it goes away again.

    how do i get it to come back w/o having to show the hidden and system files?
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  3. billchase2 thread starter macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    You don't see this? Which OS are you running?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #5
    This is the preferences window in Finder that you're looking for:

    [​IMG]

    Edit: Damn it, Nermal :)
     
  6. billchase2 thread starter macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #6
    ah ha... found it!

    but... it didn't fix it... :-(
     
  7. billchase2 thread starter macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #7
    anyone have any other ideas? i can't get the darn thing to come back...
     
  8. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #8
    Does it show up in Disk Utility?

    Try a restart as well...
     
  9. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
    #9
    This problem started once in an art class of mine and after a week the HDD went bad. I'm not sure if this is your case but try using the hardware test disc just to make sure everything is somewhat fine.
     
  10. billchase2 thread starter macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #10
    running the hardware test now...

    and yeah, it shows up in disk utility. like i said, when i use tinkertoy, i get it to show back up... but i dont want to have all my system files shown.

    oh, and i've restarted numerous times... no luck.
     
  11. billchase2 thread starter macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #11
    after doing both hardware tests, no problems found.
     
  12. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #12
    Are you trying to get the HD to show up on the desktop or in Finder? If you want it in the finder sidebar, you need to go to this tab in Finder preferences, and make sure the HD box is checked:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. billchase2 thread starter macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #13
    on the desktop. it always showed up like it's supposed to until i restarted the other day...
     
  14. VanNess macrumors 6502a

    VanNess

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #14
    Well you can try this: While in the finder, select the go menu and choose computer. In the computer window, select your hard drive and press command-I (for get info). In the get info window, select the icon (or whatever is there for the hard drive, might be a blank icon). Then press command-X (for cut) or select cut from the edit menu. Close the get info window

    Hopefully, the default hard disk icon (the ugliest icon in all of aqua) should be back to it's usual self.
     
  15. billchase2 thread starter macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #15
    ummm... even weirder. when i click "computer"... all i see in there is the network icon. no harddrive...

    i also just realized it's not in the sidebar either... even though it is checked and should be.
     
  16. VanNess macrumors 6502a

    VanNess

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #16
    By chance, do you have a period in the beginning of the hard drive's name, i.e., '.Macintosh HD'?
     
  17. billchase2 thread starter macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
  18. billchase2 thread starter macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #18
    last time i checked the hardware, i used the CD that came with my powerbook.

    this time i decided to use the disk utility and the first aid. it came up saying "volume header needs minor repair" " machintosh HD: Error: the underlying tast reported failure on exit" "1 HFS volume checked. volume needs repair"

    i was going to click "repair disk" but i can't... do i click "repair disk permissions" instead?
     
  19. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #19
    boot from your first OS X disk, and when it asks you to start installing, look at the menu bar. Click disk utilities, and then repair disk.
     
  20. billchase2 thread starter macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #20
    i won't lose any data doing that, will i?

    and i'll have to wait to do that until later... i'm at work right now so i don't have my disks on me. is there any other way to do it without the disks?
     
  21. billchase2 thread starter macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #21
    i repaired the disk...

    ... and still no drive on my desktop.
     
  22. billchase2 thread starter macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #22
    ok this is getting real annoying... i need to get my Macintosh HD back...
     
  23. billchase2 thread starter macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #23
    if this helps... when i unhide it using tinkertool and open it... all the files within it are hidden as well (well, have a light color to them since i have them unhidden)

    any ideas??
     
  24. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #24
    Make a new account and see if things work properly. If they do, maybe you should just make a new account, and move the stuff over, and then delete the old account.
     
  25. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #25
    There is a way to repair the HD without booting from the install disks. Reboot the computer holding command + s. You will end up in single user mode (command line only). Type 'fsck -fy' without the quotes and then hit enter. Repeat until it says that your drive appears fine. Then just type reboot and hit enter and the computer will restart back to normal.
     

Share This Page