Macintosh/Windows home network

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by nesbitt_a, Mar 6, 2004.

1. nesbitt_a macrumors 6502

Nov 1, 2003
    Hi all,

I'm currently a university student - and myself and three friends will soon be moving into a new flat. We will be installing 1mb broadband, and it has been suggested that we install our own network - so we can share printers/files and most importantly internet-access.

We are currently running two PC desktops, one on windows xp home, and one running fedora redhat. The other two systems are laptops, one windows xp professional, and my powerbook running panther. How would we even go about setting up a network? Would it be possible to avoid the need to run a computer 24/7?

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated. Andrew.
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

Mar 25, 2002
    London, England
    Get a rounter with built in switch and DHCP server. You plug your boradband in to the rounter then all the other machines in to switch (same unit). All the machines get an IP from the DHCP server built in to the router/switch, and all can connect to each other and the web. It works perfectly. D-Link, Linksys, they all do broadband routers, check them out.
  3. James Craner macrumors 68000

James Craner

Sep 13, 2002
    Bristol, UK