Mackbook for travel

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by williamh, Jul 12, 2006.

  1. williamh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    #1
    I'm currently living at Vancouver, Canada. However, I'm moving back to Taiwan and going to tour other asian countries very soon.

    My concern is, if I buy the Macbook from Vancouver, will the adapter works around the world, or do I have to purchase voltage converter?
     
  2. purelithium macrumors 6502

    purelithium

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Kingston, Canada
    #2
    I'm almost certain that the same power adaptor is used all around the world, only the actual prongs that fit into the outlet are swapped out, Although I'd suggest you buy a cheaper electricity travel kit rather than buying Apple's expensive one.
     
  3. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    All you need do is purchase the correct prongs to fit onto the ac adapter from Apple. The power adapter is dual voltage and switches over in accordance to the prong and power outlet in the country you're at.

    I travel overseas often and just take the prong(s) necessary to attach to my Apple power brick and all is fine.

    Check them out here
     
  4. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    I don't think that there is any modern Apple product that requires a voltage converter. They all handle a wide range. Like others have said, just the plug needs to be adapted, but the power should be absolutely fine as is. Same goes for iPods, iMacs, etc.
     
  5. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #5
    last year i took my 12" powerbook from UK to USA/New Zealand and also France and Austria

    they power adapter kit from apple was a life saver
     
  6. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #6
    I agree about the Apple travel adapter kit, and I use one myself, but if you want to save some money, cheap adapters will do and all hotels have them.
     
  7. williamh thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
  8. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #8
    williamh,

    Just to be safe (and for future reference), look for "100-240V 50-60Hz" on your power adaptor. Most portable electronics devices do have this, but desktop devices are hit/miss. For instance, some iMacs are set up for 120V, 60Hz.

    ft
     
  9. wako macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    #9
    For Taiwan and Japan, I know for sure you DO NOT need an adapter. They use the same frequency and plug.


    I been to Taiwan quite a few times so I know that for sure. I hear alot of people who went to Japan they always say they dont. I been to Narita airport before on my way to Taiwan and the plugs there are exactly like the ones in the US.


    I do believe though the Hong Kong plugs are different. I believe they use the UK plugs. Not too sure though.
     
  10. williamh thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    #10
    Yeah, my research told me that Taiwan and Canada use the same frequency and plug.

    Thanx for your info :)
     

Share This Page