MacMini G4 basic questions

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Killyp, Jul 26, 2006.

  1. macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,861
    #1
    Ello

    I might be able to get a MacMini G4 for a great price, and I was wondering if anyone knew what the maximum display resolution was, and whether it would be able to for example play high definition movies scaled up to the full res of the screen without any issues. I was planning on using either a 23" or 30" apple cinema display.

    What do you think???
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    21,631
    #2
    I highly doubt that the Mini's video capabilities can drive the 30"... even with the G5 PowerMacs you still need a sizable graphics card.
     
  3. Moderator

    robbieduncan

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    24,480
    Location:
    London
    #3
    You need Dual-Link DVI for a 30" (Cinema Display, or Dell, a 30" LCD TV will run at much lower resolution...). Mac Minis only have standard (Single-Link) DVI so a 23" is your max.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,116
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #4
    Would it make a difference if the OP got one of those newer 1.5Ghz/64MB graphics Minis?
     
  5. Moderator

    robbieduncan

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    24,480
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Nope. They still only have single-link DVI. The amount of graphics RAM is irrelevant. Even Intel Minis only have single-link DVI. So a max resolution of 1920x1200.
     
  6. macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,635
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #6
    No, I don't believe that it would. :eek:


    EDIT- beaten by robbieduncan. :)
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    gallagb

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    IN
    #7
    i've got a g4 mini 1.42 gHz machine running my 23"
    it is fine

    however- i recommend you max out the ram- big time
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    527
    #8
    Yeah...but that goes with all macs (1Gb Min)
     
  9. macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,635
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #9

    I agree, to run Mac OS X comfortably, you need at least 1GB of RAM. :)
     
  10. macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,694
    Location:
    Russia
    #10
    And max for this particular Mac ;)
     
  11. macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,861
    #11
    I know. My MBP with 1 gb is pretty sluggish at times. OS X is a memory hog!!!
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,570
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #12
    Ok, so I have a question. If the G4 machines have dedicated video cards, why would it matter if you had 1GB RAM vs 512MB RAM for these monitors? I figured as long as you weren't gaming or anything it shouldn't make much of a difference. :confused:

    I was hoping to bump up to a 20" or 21" monitor from a 17" on my Mini. I realize that's not the 23" you were talking about, but would I notice some sort of unexpected slowdown?
     
  13. slu
    macrumors 68000

    slu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,530
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #13
    Nope. It doesn't matter. You will will not notice any difference at all going to a 20 or 21 incher. My friend uses a G4 mini with a Dell 20.1" monitor and it works great.

    I think they mean that OS X is "unusable" in general with anything less than a gig of RAM.

    I am here to tell you that is hogwash. I use 768 MB in my Mac (see sig) and I do just fine using GarageBand, Final Cut Express, Photoshop and all the other normal stuff. I do not use FCE and GarageBand at the same time though, but I bet I could with little trouble.
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,570
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #14
    Awesome, thanks! I was just confused because they mentioned RAM in a thread about monitors...

    Until I added another 512MB to my PowerBook about two months ago I had never had a machine with 1GB RAM. My iMac had 256, my iBook had 640, my Mini has 512, etc. I honestly don't see a huge difference between my PowerBook and my Mini and I constantly run Mail.app, Adium, Firefox, and iTunes as well as doing light PS work and whatnot. I agree with your assessment of the 1GB minimum as "hogwash," though I do think you're doing yourself a disservice with anything less than 512MB. Oh well, to each his own.

    Now to find someone to buy my Samsung 172x so I can finally get myself the new monitor.
     

Share This Page