MacPro 3,1 (early 2008) - upgrade suggestion for FCP X

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dOOsi7, Jul 17, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #1
    MacPro 3,1 (early 2008)
    2x 2.8Ghz Quad-Core
    GeForce 8800GT
    500GB (int hd) / 8GB (ram)
    10.6.8

    Will be installing FCP X, Motion and Compressor to work on various video projects in coming weeks, and want to upgrade to prepare for data storage and memory. Mostly 1080p/720p footages, motion graphics, photoshop work, etc.

    Looked through OWC, and want to know if below choices are good for my needs.

    Seagate 2.0TB / SATA 6.0Gb/s / 7200RPM / 64MB Cache (x2 of these for 4TB.. for video storage)
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Seagate/ST2000DM001/

    4.0GB OWC Memory 2x 2.0 GB Matched Set PC6400 / DDR2 ECC / 800MHz 240 pin (x2 of these for 8GB.. so Total 16GB)
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/64FB2MPK04GB/


    Will these be sufficient for High Def video edits?
    Are these compatibel with MacPro 3,1?

    Thanks in advance~
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #2
    I literally have your machine, to the exact specs, with a few exceptions.

    I have a 400gb, 2tb, 500gb and 500gb drives installed. I have 8gb of ram, dual quads, an 8800GT and a super drive.

    I ordered another 8gb of ram for mine. I noticed within FCSX, I am only using 4-5GB of ram with FCSX rendering 2.5 hours of video at 1080p. That being said, I don't know enough about the architecture of the program, and how it manages available ram, but I'll be able to tell you in a few days.

    I have been using MiStat to monitor everything while the machine works. Last night, I got down to 212mb of ram free, while everything else was working. FCSX was using 700% processor power and 4.5 GB of ram, while sitting and rendering. Keep in mind, this is the most difficult job you can ask the machine to do, so it held up well.

    I would concentrate on Ram and storage at this point. Your drive choice is good, and I would do exactly the same thing if I had the dough.

    The ram on the other hand may be limiting. Again, not knowing how the program accesses and uses ram, and what it limits itself to are important factors. Maybe it'll use every available part it can, allowing a certain amount free to give OSX some functionality? I don't know this. I jumped to 16gb because I thought 2GB per core was a great way to round out the machine for now, until I start swapping the 2gb Dimms for 4GB dimms. For the record, my 8GB cost $160, and is the same stuff I ordered before to replace the 667MHz ram that was in this machine. It is 800MHz, FB DIMM with heat spreaders and works flawlessly.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #3
    I'll be getting into FCPX very soon

    Though I am not using it yet on my own rig, other work I do relates, and I'll get to my point after I explain a little.

    Currently my work is Audio - Pro Tools specifically
    I run sessions in the range of 50-60 tracks (Combination of Mono and Stereo), with lots of Aux tracks.
    In sessions this size I will run an average of 120-180 plugins - Waves Platinum Native, as well as select others.

    These are pretty intense sessions, and my 8 core modded 1,1 handles them very well (rock solid)

    One HUGE improvement in this workflow and how the machine handles the work was my SSD's

    I'm running a 128 SSD for my OS
    I'm running a 256 SSD for my streaming audio drive (Session in progress is on this drive)
    I'm running two 1TB HDD's for storage

    Going to an SSD for my 'in progress sessions' drive picked things up a lot.

    I would presume that it will be the same for Video

    Seek times play a huge role in the performance and responsive-ness of the system when working in audio.

    Granted, it would be nice to have a massive SSD, but it really is not necessary for me, I throw my current work on it, and back up to HDD's (And archive to HDD's)


    So far, this is the most effective disk drive solution I have ever ran

    Just my .02
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #4
    The problem is the fact that Audio does not take up the amount of space video does.

    For example. I am working on a documentary right now. It is 2.5 hours long, and is composed of over 400 different sources. The project is 1.5TB in size, and is 60% done.

    To work with SSDs and video, you need a massive array, and it is far too expensive. Trust me when I say this, it will work flawlessly for what I think you are in need of. Should an SSD help, sure, but it is not going to be the drive where your media is, so there is no point for this.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #5
    Got ya.

    So used to 3.5 to 5 minute timelines in my world ;) - Music

    I'm just gonna be doin music video stuff....

    teach me to open my mouth about video ;)
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #6
    Its all good. I too work with audio. We use Logic in a personal studio, in a different location.

    All in all, I like it, but we are using a 4 year old iMac and a few drive caddies and we never have an issue. Some, over 50 tracks per song, and running plug ins with mix downs. The machine never hiccups.

    The video side though, is taxing on the cpu and ram. FCSX does a great job of allocating all clips and playing them back, but I don't know how the memory is resourced. That is the first bit I would concern myself with, aside from having the storage space to keep all media.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #7
    How is the 8800 in FCPX ????

    I am kinda strapped for a few weeks (lots of stuff I'm doing on the house, removing diseased trees, etc) then I'll make the move for FCPX and a vid card on my machine.....

    I was thinking of the 5770, but wondering if it is really necessary for doing Music Videos - with them only being around 5 minutes long.

    If I happened to score a 8800 for cheap would it be worth it?
    Or would you say go for the 5770 ?

    (I may have a line on a 8800 for $100, verses a new 5770 for $220 or so)
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #8
    Thanks for your inputs!!

    Good to hear from others whom have been doing similar (if not exact same) config!!! :)

    And although I am sure I can find exact same hd and ram memories from other vendors, I am buying these from OWC since I can trust their quality, and customer/tech support.
     
  9. gpzjock, Jul 17, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2012

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #9
    Would a newer GFX card boost FCPX performance?
    I put a flashed HD5870 in my Octo '08 and it works very well for eyecandy.
    12 GB RAM sounds like enough, I have only managed to use all of my 16 GB with Handbrake at full tilt.
    Check MemoryAmerica for competitive rates if you want to buy more.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #10
    I have not noticed any issues with FCSX or any program for that matter on the OSX side using the 8800 GT. I am running it into a 30" at 2560x1600 and have no issues what so ever.

    That being said, in Windows 7 using Battlefield 3... It is sluggish, but that was expected.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #11
    A newer GFX card would definitely make FCPX faster. I put a 570 in mine and FCPX flies. 4K footage with no problems.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #12
    My current display setup is x2 Apple 23" HD Display (1920x1200) connected to 8800GT. I've been pretty happy with quality, and in terms of working space, more than enough~
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #13
    Good to hear... I have a pair of 23" Aluminums

    I will be adding my 3rd display (46" Sony LED) at some point tho.

    Looks like I'll have a 5770 in a day or two.... I'll see how she behaves with all 3, if that's possible

    If it isn't, I'll try the 23's on one card, and the 46 on another.

    I don't understand the monitor size card limitations.... will it not display on that large a screen? Or simply not display native resolution?

    Maybe that's for another thread.... sorry ;)
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #14
    Are you telling me... I can connect another... display!? :cool:
    Can you please update on this when you try this config.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #15
    No.... I don't know. That post was presented overall as a question.

    I will be adding my 3rd display (46" Sony LED) at some point tho.
    Looks like I'll have a 5770 in a day or two.... I'll see how she behaves with all 3, if that's possible
    If it isn't, I'll try the 23's on one card, and the 46 on another.
    I don't understand the monitor size card limitations.... will it not display on that large a screen? Or simply not display native resolution?


    Sorry... wasn't trying to jack this thread
     
  16. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #16
    [UPDATE] with FCPX+additional HD/RAM

    Been happily working with FCPX (latest 10.0.6) after upgrading MacPro with additional 2TB HD and 8GB RAM.

    HOWEVER, as my FCPX projects get more complicated (720p/1080p, effects, images, audio), I'm starting to feel a slight lagging with video playback/rendering (note: current video card - 8800GT).

    I prob won't be getting a new iMac anytime soon, so for a quick fix...

    Is it worth upgrading video card to ATI 5770??
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/M...70-graphics-upgrade-kit-for-mac-pro-(mid-2010)
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    phoenixsan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    #17
    I will go with OWC....

    great sellers, easy devolutions, knowleadgeable people for Mac systems. But also I want to give you some options to consider:

    Hard drives:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136891

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822236343

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136792

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822236352

    I had used both Seagate and Western Digital drives. Prefer WD ones because realibility issues/computer being used in 24/7 mode for some time

    And about memory:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...600032358&IsNodeId=1&name=DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)

    Hope that helps. Sometimes figure out what is the right hardware to buy becomes tricky, good luck!:):apple:
     
  18. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #18
    5770 isn't a whole lot faster than 8800 but does have more RAM

    5870 or a GTX570 from Nvidia is better bet.

    There are cheaper options if you can live without boot screens, etc
     

Share This Page