MacPro: 4 separate GPU's?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DMPDX, Aug 7, 2006.

  1. DMPDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #1
    After looking online at the macPro site, I have a question. In the GPU selection frame it says that they are offering:


    NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 256MB (single-link DVI/dual-link DVI)
    2 x NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 256MB [Add $150]
    3 x NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 256MB [Add $300]
    ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512MB (2 x dual-link DVI) [Add $350]
    4 x NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 256MB [Add $450]
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 4500 512MB, Stereo 3D (2 x dual-link DVI) [Add $1650]


    DOes this mean quad GPU's? Like four different slots each with a grahics card in it? Or is this meaning just 2, 3 or 4 chips on one board. Help me out please. I think I might actually place my order today!!
    -dsm
     
  2. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #2
    The cards are in separate slots.
     
  3. michaeldmartin macrumors regular

    michaeldmartin

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Testicles. That is all.
    #3
    It means it has four nvidia 7300 cards (crappy!) in sli for much more performance (not four times as much..) So yes; there are three gpu's on seperate cards.
    ARG! beat me to it!
     
  4. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #4
    It doesn't say they're in SLI.

    I didn't even know macs supported SLI.
     
  5. Glen Quagmire macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    They're not in SLI. Macs don't support SLI. It's for multiple monitors, nothing more.
     
  6. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #6
    Say workstation. Im really hoping they introduce a new model or another Cube in the next couple of months to fit inbetween this workstation and Mini.
     
  7. fowler. macrumors 6502a

    fowler.

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena
    #7
    as apple says:

     
  8. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
  9. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    Why does it matter for 2D performance? Answer: It doesn't.
     
  10. pincho macrumors regular

    pincho

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #10
    hmm just curious, do u think i could take out the 7800GT from my PC and put it in a Mac Pro (considering that the PM G5's supported it, u would think the drivers are in OS X) it would work?

    *drool* dual boot sweetness :D
     
  11. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
  12. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #12
    No, it wont work.
     
  13. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
    Nice that the X1900XT is an option, and dual bays....

    Shame no Sli but still really nice computer. :)

    Now how much is my overdraft :D
     
  14. steelfist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    #14
    8 23 inch monitors is a lot...imagine your desk having 4. it's already too much
     
  15. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #15
    >DMPDX

    Remember to stick with the same brand of card, right now Apple is warning that an ATI & Nvidia card will not work.

    But should be able to run an Nvidia Quadro FX 4500, and up to 3 GeForce 7300 GT cards.

    If you get an ATI Radeon X1900 XT, right now you are stuck with 2 monitors until ATI releases a low power Mac Pro card -- since 2 X1900 cards will NOT work (too much power for slot 2.)
     
  16. Rapmastac1 macrumors 65816

    Rapmastac1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    In the Depths of the SLC!
    #16
    Man, what are we possibly doing in this day and age that requires not only four processors, but four video cards...!!!??? Jeez, we keep this up, and that bigger is better theory is gonna take over.

    "Look at my Mac Pro!"
    "So, my PC is ten feet tall, has 14 graphic cards, 8 cpus running at 10ghz, and has 500teraflops of hard drive space with 2 terabytes of ram, takes an hour to start up, but once it's on, danng, it's fast"
    "Man, make my Mac Pro look small"

    Is this what it is all coming to? LOL
     
  17. pincho macrumors regular

    pincho

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #17
    :( o well
     
  18. After G macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #18
    So the Mac is still going to boot faster? :D :D :D
     
  19. vv-tim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    #19
    Why not?

    If I remember right, there are Nvidia drivers for the OSX86Project. I don't see why a 7800 wouldn't work.
     
  20. DMPDX thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #20
    I bet god's MacPro has every slot filled and has the 8 23 inch set up. He probably actually got the hookup from apple, did it big, and went 8 30"ers.

    Ah back to reality. I can order 4 7300's? But there is absolutely no performance gain compared to one 7300? Why does apple make SLI/crossfire plausable yet just puts it out of our reach? I thought this was supposed to be the most cutting edge computer/workstation available. But yet it still cant compete graphics wise with most dells and alienwares etc. Gah I think Im going to wait a little and see if there are any hardware glitches/ anyhting else wrong wiht the initial first revision. Then Ill proabably go all out and get the quad 3 :0:):) (but my budget wil probably only allow the 2.0)
    Thanks everyone!
    -dsm
     
  21. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #21
    It isn't about performance with 4 7300, it is about supporting a multimonitor display -- or a bunch of monitors.

    Would be neat to see more of these for Macs using all DVI.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page