Macpro - Headphone port on front

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ^squirrel^, Dec 15, 2006.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Dear all,

    In osx i am unable to automatically get the headphones to work without having to go into System Prefs>Sound>Output and select headphones. In Windows it picks up the headphone jack and plays my music without any issues.

    Does anyone know how i can configure my machine to play music through the headphones without having to make manual changes when they are plugged in?

    Thanks

    Darren
     
  2. macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #2
    There's this or a soundcard with a headphone out.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. macrumors 65816

    crazycat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #3
    I dont have a problem with my mac pro, when i insert th eheadphones it just works. What kind of headphones are you using?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #4
    Sony mdr-xd200. I must have a setting incorrect in my preferences. I thought it should just default to the front headphone socket when detected.

    However see link below

    http://forums.macrumors.com/archive/index.php/t-234051.html
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Hm. In my case the headphones work just fine, but the external speakers don't turn off automatically as they do in Windows. That's a bit annoying.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    trainguy77

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #6
    Well the headphones are the same as internal speakers. So if you set up your mac to play everything through the opitcal for example, you will need to change the settings to make headphones work. I just play my headphones into my amp.
     

Share This Page