MacPro Internet

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by petersonwork, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #1
    Hey, now I use a pc for gaming and my mac for work and I have one ethernet cable that directly connects to my modem. Whenever I try to turn on my mac and plug in my ethernet cable I always have to like unplug, plug it back in and then restart and try unplugging and plugging itb ack in to get internet. Is there a special way to solve this problem like setting up my mac to recognize this or maybe like a certain time to insert the cable?
    Thanks,
    Ken
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    Do you have an airport card? I know if you have airport and need to use ethernet, you must switch it off and wait for the ethernet to be selected.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Forest Grove, OR
    #3
    You could go get yourself a router/switch. They aren't too spendy these days. Especially online.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #4
    Well, I have an airport utility but when i click it it scans and finds nothing and I can choose anything, like any off or on button. So I guess I don't have one in here?
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    Well unless you added it when you purchased it, airport cards do not come standard with the Mac Pro. I guess my advice is of no use now. But I do know that you have to give the ethernet a minute to configure itself.
     
  6. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
  7. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #7
    What you need is a simple wired router. Get one from d-link or linksys for about $40 or if you like, an Apple router would work too and have a few more features.
     

Share This Page