MacPro owner:pull off a Xeon to see if it works

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Simao, Aug 31, 2006.

  1. Simao macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #1
    Hi there,

    I´ve posted before and read other post on this issue. I want a MacPro working with a single CPU, and the awnser were nothing but theories.

    Can anyone just take it off, so the mistery ends....
     
  2. panoz7 macrumors 6502a

    panoz7

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #2
    Same answer as posted in your other thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=225193 ...
     
  3. Simao thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #3
    Dont get it


    Dont you think no one will ever try it?

    Think of how many people would be interested in knowing it for sure.
     
  4. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #4
    Why would someone do that? There is no reason to want it to run slower(that i can think of). I thing it ruins on AppleCare(even if its just for the first year) so i 'm not sure if the average Mac Pro user would want to test it
     
  5. panoz7 macrumors 6502a

    panoz7

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #5
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=2752780&postcount=27

    They did try it. It works. Read through the whole thread.

    Read through that thread. I was skeptical to begin with but I understand now. Basically it turns the mac pro into the expandable headless iMac that everyone seems to want.
     
  6. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    I did it because I don't need 4-core power. The apps I run would rather have a 2 core 2.66GHz system than a 4 core 2.00GHz system.

    Well, now I have a 2 core 2.66GHz Mac Pro for less than what it would have cost me to get a 4 core 2.0GHz machine. As for AppleCare, nothing was harmed or damaged in any way during the removal so I can throw in another 5150 and it is as good as new. Warranty intact.
     
  7. Simao thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #7

    Sorry panoz, i just read the first page of the forum. Now i´m happy. It works!!
     
  8. Simao thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #8
    what apps do you use??
     

Share This Page