MacPro Quad Core 32g Ram running slow Logic using only 9g in Activity Monitor

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by julian6400, Jun 26, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    #1
    Well its taken a while, but this is my first foray into the world of forums! I'm so hacked off with this regular problem and havent been able to find anything anywhere to solve it i thought i'd see if anyone has any similiar issues and maybe even a solve to it.

    So.... im an orchestrator and producer and after my mid 2008 Macbook Pro with 8g ram started freezing up i invested in this 3 years ago -

    Mac Pro 2x 2.4ghz Quad Core intel Xeon and stuck in 32gb of lovely Crucial RAM and 3 seperate internal 1TB drives with one for operating system (10.6.8), one for Audio recording/saving and one for all my sample libraries.

    32gb ram - should be enough i thought!

    So i regularly run at least 30 VI's - Ni The giant, Spitfire Orchestral librabies (say 12 string instruments up to 0.69g per load) LASS strings, plus perc STYLUS, ABBEY road drums, Trillian basses (acoustic/electric), ominisphere etc etc. So pretty hefty sample instruments. But theyre sooo nice!!

    In addition, the 32 bit server will come alive (NOT! So unstable i find) with my Waves plugs etc.

    Looking at ACTIVITY MONITOR however i might be not touching 9 gig (and sometimes even less) of usage for Logic, and only say 800MB for 32 bit server and have NOTHING else open - and what do i find .....

    - Mouse lag and cant really do anything with the mouse whilst playing the track - cant adjust volume - too slow, zooming problems
    - Takes a good 2-3 seconds for track to stop playing
    Dont get System OVERLOADS so much, its just that the system goes REALLLLLY slow.


    What ive tried- - -

    - Running Mountain Lion off another drive (havent had time to install it and wanted to be sure everything worked etc)
    - Tried all audio prefs - large/small buffers/threads etc and yes i am on 1024.

    in a nutshell how come with 32g RAM everything is so slow when barely using 10g of that???????

    I dread getting to the end of a project cos i know im gonna be freezing so much, but with so much editing all the time for the orchestral parts i need everything unfrozen and working.

    Sorry if this is long winded but wanted to describe what im experiencing.

    Any feedback most welcome! Thankyou in advance.

    --------------------

    Mac Pro 2x 2.4ghz Quad Core intel Xeon 32g RAM, 3TB storage
    10.6.8
    Logic Pro 9.1.8
    RME Fireface
    PMC TB2SA's
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #2
    It's not the RAM, it's the sloppy programming in logic. Or maybe it's a GPU thing? I have a mac with lots of RAM and a weak GPU and I get the same thing you do in Logic.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #3
    I've got a better answer for you... turn off the analyzer in any open EQ windows. Problem solved.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #4
    are you running logic in 64-bit mode?

    if you're running kontakt - are you letting it manage its own memory?
     

Share This Page