MacPro4,1 (2009) Processor Upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by andersjohanson, Jan 11, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    #1
    Ladies and gentlemen. I know that a whole lot has been written about the firware flash from MacPro4,1 to MacPro 5,1, and furthermore the processor upgrade to a single W3680 3,33 Ghz Westmere, and I'm doing this on a single 2,66 Ghz Nehalem as soon as the W3680 arrives.

    However, I can't seem to get any wiser on the best upgrade for the dual 2,26 Ghz Nehalem (also 4,1, 2009). The new X56XX-processors from Intel all seem to ”run” at 32 nm instead of 45 nm.

    So! As you may have guessed by now, my question remains: Which of the current Intels are the best/most price worth upgrade for a dual 2,26 Ghz Nehalem? Is it still the X5570 / 2,93 GHz 8-core Nahalem solution, or is there a Westmere 6-Core Hex to fit in the current 2,26 Ghz setup?

    Thanks in advance!
    Anders, Stockholm
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2
    i'm ahemming-ahhaing right now, waiting for my thermal padding to arrive before i jump in, and so far, it seems:

    2.93 (cost effective, decent upgrade)
    w5590 (between $700-800 USD)
    X5680 (between 1300-1600USD)

    are the main choices out there.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #3
    I just completed upgrading my Mac pro from dual 2.93 GHz Quad Cores to dual 3.33 GHz Hex cores X5680 with no real issues. so for a flashed 4,1 you should be able to do the same with little issue.
     
  4. andersjohanson, Jan 11, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2013

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    #4
    Good times. Was that a MacPro4,1 or a ”true” 5,1 (2010) you upgraded?

    ----------

    So two X5680 can actually be used with no issues at all? Thought the stepping was wrong to make these work in a MacPro4,1. Please advise.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #5
    If you flash the 4,1 with the 5,1 firmware (which can be done because they are the same computer), then you can use up to dual hex 3.33ghz processors. There's a bit more work to it (needing to use some spacers and what not). Search my friend.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    This, but do not buy ES X5680. These do have CPUID 206C1 and 5,1 EFI lacks microcode for this. SLBV5 will work OK.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    #7
    That much I understand, however, while searching, some people seem to advice against using 32 nm processors, claiming they simply don't match the 45 nm of the daughter board. X5680 running at 32 nm would simply not work. Can anyone either confirm that this is the case, or doesn't b0-stepping or 45 nm matter at all?

    ----------

    So which Intel processor running at 3,33 Ghz 6-core would most definitely work in this dual MacPro4,1 setup?
     
  8. 666sheep, Jan 11, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2013

    macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    X5680 SLBV5, after flashing to 5,1 like KBS756 did. "W3xxx" CPUs don't work on dual boards because they lack second QPI channel.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    #9
    Wondrous! X5680 SLBV5 it is then. Thanks so much for clearing this up, and so fast. Have a great weekend!
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #10
    How much are you looking to spend and where are you buying from? I purchased mine from ITCreations and their customer service was great with dealing with the issue I did have and I got the x5680s from them.

    As other poster mentioned I used washers for spacing because 4,1s have lidless when dual processor configured. And yes mine is a 4,1 flashed to be 5,1
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    #11
    I'm doing the single processor upgrade to my own 4,1, and the dual upgrade to the video editing 4,1 at work. For the latter it may be better to buy all parts here in Sweden because of issues that may appear along the way, however, prices on e-bay with international shipping are quite appealing of course.

    If we're buying here in Sweden, the X5680 costs around 1700 USD + our tax of 25%. I know. E-bay seems better and better...

    Swedish Intel reseller Misco:
    http://www.misco.se/Product/Product...ng=X5680 1366&RegisterSearch=5#itab.6087594.2

    My only worries were the nm values and the steppings, but I trust you on the X5680 SLBV5!

    ***

    On another note:

    Since I have the Apple SSD carrier, I was wondering whether I can bring an SSD from a MacBook Pro, running Mountain Lion straight into the MacPro, and make it boot, or not? Is a fresh install the only way to go?

    ----------

    Oh yeah, when it comes to washers, it's just 2 mm thick, and about 5 mm diameter around every screw of the heatsink right? Are there any images of this on the forum?
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    #12
    EDIT: Using an SSD from a MacBook Pro running Mountain Lion in a Mac Pro, worked beautifully. Some apps bought from the App Store had to be imported again though, other than that, no issues!
     
  13. ljonesj, Jan 15, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    ljonesj

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Kingsport TN
    #13
    A dream that i hope to make true one day

    I dont need it but i want a mac pro this is just a wish
    delete this please
     

Share This Page