Macromedia Studio MX speed

Discussion in 'Community' started by groov', Jun 14, 2002.

  1. groov' macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2001
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #1
    I just installed Macromedia Studio MX on my G4 400 with 896 MB memory and on my iMac rev A 233 with 288MB memory.

    I noticed an amazing speed difference for all the MX programs: Fireworks, Freehand, Flash and Dreamweaver, in favor of .... the old iMac!

    The MX suite on the iMac is twice as fast (also in starting up) in OS9.2 compared to OSX, and I mean really fast.

    Anyone else who noticed that the MX's are much slower in OSX, even on a better machine? And is there a possibility to speed up MX on OSX (I did the prebindings thing already). Or do we have to wait for Jaguar?
     
  2. McFreggle macrumors 6502

    McFreggle

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Location:
    Dendermonde/Leuven, Belgium
    #2
    The apps take a lot of time to start up on my iBook 600, but I think it's okay (compared to other applications -- OS X is rather slow at the moment, compared to OS 9). Once the programs have started up, they work okay for me.

    k.
     
  3. mr.w macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado
    #3
    Well I can't really see the difference between MX in classic and MX in OSX... although, I do have a dual 800 with 1.5 gigs of RAM.

    Although, MX does seem to run a bit quicker on Wintel Boxes :( don't know why either
     
  4. Oatmeal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    #4
    first time's slow

    Like other OSX apps, I notice that Studio MX launches slow the first time after the Mac is started. But if you quit a Studio MX app, and then start it up again, it launches much quicker. Performance of the apps seems fine to me, so far.
     
  5. groov' thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2001
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #5
    classic is not 9.2

    I mean using MX under a 9.2 start up, not under classic. I think it's not possible to use MX under classic if you installed it under OSX.
     

Share This Page