Macs and Music

Discussion in 'Community' started by Durandal7, Jul 9, 2003.

1. Durandal7 macrumors 68040

Anyone here play an instrument of some sort?

I have been looking at my old keyboard that I bought about six years ago. It has a MIDI feature on it that I've never tried out. Would a keyboard that old interface with a modern Mac and does anyone know any good Mac compatible MIDI hardware interface thinges (I'm new to MIDI ;) ) ?

I tried playing drums once but all I seemed to do was make random noises. Ah well.

2. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

WinterMute

I play bass, but I'm also a studio engineer and I lecture in Music/audio tech.

Any MIDI keyboard will interface with a MIDI enabled system, MIDIman doa range of cheap 1 or 2 in and out USB interfaces that'll get your keyboard talking to the Mac, but you'll need an app to record the MIDI info, and maybe to do a little audio to.

Standard low end stuff includes Cubasis or it's big brother Cubase, but there are plenty of low-end sequencers that'll get you moving.

OSX includes core MIDI services that make connection to MIDI gear very easy, as long as your interface speaks OSX.

3. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

rainman::|:|

used to play the flute... haven't picked one up in ages, think about it every now and then tho...

pnw

4. PeterVanTassel macrumors newbie

My friends & I are mostly djs/producers, all mac based. It's totally a great environment & way to work, especially if you've ever done any "old fashioned" recording/editing (tape splicing...uhhhhh).
    I use peak to record, cubase for sequencing, but have experience with pretty much all types o stuff. There's actually some pretty good share/free ware for that stuff, too if you're just getting started.