macs and your career choice

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by mac15, Apr 11, 2002.

1. mac15 macrumors 68040

mac15

Alot of you use macs at work,
    wether it be an office job or a designer
    How has the mac platform helped you with your job or career choice.
    Though I would jump on the bandwagon as well

2. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

Rower_CPU

Since I am the tech for a lab that has both Macs and PCs, my knowledge of the Mac platform essentially helped me get my job in August 2001. The other applicants didn't have as much Mac experience as me...so I got the job (plus it doesn't hurt that I've been working here for 4 years).

Mac experience in the IT field is a rarity. You never know...your Mac tech skills may get you a job someday too. :)

3. chibianh macrumors 6502a

chibianh

Well, I don't use my mac at work.. that's cuz I don't have a career job yet. I'm currently a student and have been for the past 13 years in a row. Got my first mac in 6th grade... got a peecee in 11th grade... gone back to mac my freshman year in college. Funny thing is... straight A's from 6th - 10th grade.. did so-so my last two years in high school.. could the mac be the factor? or is it just high school senioritis? who knows.. Well, since I have a mac again, i hope the straight A's will come back.

As for what I will be doing with it? Well, what does every other freshman and sophomore in college do with their computers? writing papers, playing games, the usual stuff. Maybe with a mac, I will get more creative...

Anyway.. where is the new tibook! give it to me!!

4. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

eyelikeart

my...uh....career...

we have a network of 4 Macs setup at work...a printing company....my G4 which I use for prepress output as well as design...2 other G3's for the same purposes....and another G3 we use as a RIP for film output...

personally I use my TiBook to play around with and dabble with my photography & music...I also do freelance work with it...