Macs, viruses and fixing them on a budget ($0)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by win_convert, Mar 20, 2004.

1. win_convert macrumors member

You may have picked up from my other posts, but I am a windows user looking to switch later on in the year. Are there any free to use/download, free to update and reliable virus checkers for macintosh? I have tried several sites and have only found norton updates.

Also, if I am looking to buy in nov/december, would I be better to get a 14" ibook or a 12" powerbook considering I am a student with a budget of about AUD$3500.

thanks alot.

2. beatle888 macrumors 68000

beatle888

their out there but im not sure you need one. i havent used a virus protection program since....maybe 1990. its not really necessary for the mac. now that i said that, maybe i should look into it.

seriously though, viruses arent really an issue with macs. the creator of the virus would spend a lot of time but only infecting a small user base.

3. Flowbee macrumors 68030

Flowbee

Well, if you sign up for a .Mac account ($99) you get Virex for 'free'. It's slow as all heck, but I feel like I only need to run it about once a month (overnight) at the very most. It cleared up a MS Word macro virus problem I was having.

Otherwise, you really don't need to be too concerned with viruses.

4. phonemonkey macrumors regular

It's not necessary as far as your personal system (usually) but you can still pass them on to pc users through emails. That being said I don't normally use one but about once a month.

5. phonemonkey macrumors regular

Right now, I have a maxed out (memory wise) 14" ibook 933 that runs a little faster than my friends 12" pb, but the pb has options that make it worth the while. I would wait until you are ready (if you can avoid the itch) and see what systems are available at that time to decide. Surely Apple will update by then.

6. 748s macrumors 6502a

748s