Macs with RAID?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Zwhaler, Aug 24, 2006.

?

Will Macs Ever Feature RAID?

  1. Yes - In the near future.

    8 vote(s)
    72.7%
  2. Yes - In a long time from now. (2008+)

    2 vote(s)
    18.2%
  3. No - Never, or at least not for the next 5 years.

    1 vote(s)
    9.1%
  1. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #1
    Well, I serached around and couldn't find a good topic, so I'll just start my own. I honestly would really like it if Macs got RAID (Zero or One) but do you think it will happen? Because they don't really crash and the whole no viruses thing kinda eliminates the point of RAID 1, but I would still like it :) but don't want to install a second HD myself, so do you think Apple will ever (as in this year or next year) release macs with a RAID option? (I know Mac Pros have RAID, I'm talking about the lower end models)
     
  2. CyberPrey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    IGH, MN
  3. Zwhaler thread starter macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #3
    Yeah, but I'm talking about maybe high end consumer models. Like the 20" iMac.
     
  4. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #4
    No offense, but in what space would the create this RAID? The iMac is already packed full as it is. There's the space in the Mac Pro, but not in the iMac.

    And they do make machines with RAID options: they're called XServe RAIDs. :)
     
  5. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #5
    OSX provides software RAID options, via disk-utility.

    'Tis my understanding that you can built RAID disk arrays using internal and external drives, which would allow consumers products, such as MacBook, iMac and Mac-Mini to have RAID setups. Obviously the only Mac that can have an internal RAID array is the PowerMac/Mac Pro series.

    I recall there being an article of four iPod Shuffle's RAIDed together using a 4-port USB hub.. just to see if it worked.
     
  6. ampd macrumors regular

    ampd

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #6
    I wish we had more raid options though... I love raid 5...
     
  7. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    What do viruses and crashes have to do with RAID 1? If you get a virus, mirroring isn't going to help. You'll just mirror the virus, too. Same with crashes. If you have a corrupted file, its going to be mirrored just like everything else. The reason to use RAID 1 is in case you have a hard drive failure which Macs are just as prone to as PC's.
     
  8. Easy Rider macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #8
    ding ding ding
     
  9. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #9
    So what you're really asking is how soon people think Apple will provide a 'consumer' model that can hold two or more hard drives, correct?

    Not soon.

    (I already have a RAID on my circa-2004 eMac, two external 80GB hard drives in a RAID-1 as my backup drive.) A PowerBook G3 with an expansion-bay hard drive can be configured to run the internal and expansion bay drives as a RAID-1. You could theoretically remove the optical drive from any of their computers, and slap in a second hard drive, and run a RAID.
     

Share This Page