Magma and Unison

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by funkychunkz, Dec 17, 2005.

  1. funkychunkz macrumors 6502a

    funkychunkz

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #1
    Recently, I learned of Unison, a Panic software UseNet application. I'd like to try it out, but I'm not sure if my magma.ca account is configured for it. Their website says that the Usenet service is free with my type of highspeed account, and says their server is at news.magma.ca, but I can't connect using my account in Unison. I tried using nntpX, and it quits before downloading the server list.

    I've never used UseNet before, so I'm sure I haven't used up my 8GB monthly bandwidth.

    Any ideas that I should try? Does anyone have a similar problem?
     
  2. prophet621 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #2
    Do you know if you need authentication? Some ISPs do require a usename and password while others don't as long as it's being used from their connection. For example, I have Cox (cable modem) and my ISP newsgroup address is news.east.cox.net. No authentication needed and Unison connected just fine. If I tried to use authentication for this account it doesn't work and won't connect.

    When I had DSL a few years ago I did need to use authentication to connect so double check that with you ISP.

    Are you behind a router? The ports that are needed may be getting blocked. These ports aren't typically blocked with default router settings but may be worth a look.
     
  3. funkychunkz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    funkychunkz

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #3
    I tried with auth, but a mesage was returned and said that I needed it, so that's out.

    On their site they say that the format for an account is uid@magma.ca and the regular password. I'm sure I have both right.

    That leaves ports, which do I need open. I have both a linksys router and the firwall option built in for 10.3.
     
  4. funkychunkz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    funkychunkz

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #4
    nvm, I figured out that I can use any port ie. 548

    Thanks!
     
  5. chkdg8 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #5
    I keep getting this message and all of my log in info is correct.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. chkdg8 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #6
    It looks like it's a bug in the current version. The message that I get above sometimes comes on and then it sometimes doesn't. I usually have to launch and quit Unison several times before it latches onto my server.
     

Share This Page