mail.app and groupwise

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by swindmill, Sep 26, 2005.

  1. swindmill macrumors 6502a

    swindmill

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    KY
    #1
    My university uses Novell Groupwise and I have tried to set up Mail.app with this account, but it constantly freezes and more or less does not work. It did import all my mail at first, but now just goes into "not responding" every time I click on anything in the account.

    Does anyone else use Groupwise with Mail.app? Any advice would be apreciated. Also, if anyone knows a place to find the correct configuration that might help as well
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    I am using Mail.app with groupwise too, and I have found the performance to be... well, troublesome. It works, but there are small weird things. There is one sender of a mailing list, who announces a monthly colloquium series, and her e-mails never get imported into the mail.app inbox. For no apparent reason. And it is pretty slow. Sometimes, attachments do not form properly, forcing me to go to their web-based mail access to get the attachment. And once I had an issue with mail synchronization that somehow lead to me deleting a number of e-mails from my inbox and losing them. :(

    In any event, I'm sorry, I didn't mean for that to devolve into a rant. Are you using POP or IMAP to access Groupwise?
     
  3. swindmill thread starter macrumors 6502a

    swindmill

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    KY
    #3
    I thought that Groupwise used IMAP, so I guess I didn 't realize I had a choice. That is, of course, if you are referring to how I set it up in Mail.app. :confused:

    Would you mind telling me the incoming server and port you are using? I'm not even sure mine is correct, I'm finding different ones depending on where I look. I know the university name will be different, but I'm not sure whether to use imap.____.edu or imap.gwise.______.edu, or something along those lines.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    I don't think the server name will help... mine doesn't seem to follow any normal pattern like that. As for ports, my incoming mail is 993 (SSL) with password authentication, and my SMTP is 25 without authentication (but it only works from the internal network...I use a different SMTP server at home.
     
  5. swindmill thread starter macrumors 6502a

    swindmill

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    KY
    #5
    but, in order to set up the account in Mail, you have use the correct server name, right? For instance Gmail is pop.gmail.com and anything else would not work. I just want to be sure that I am using the correct server name to import the messages to Mail
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Agreed. But it isn't something that's necessarily standard to groupwise. The correct server name is whatever domain name was registered to the groupwise server by your IT department. ;)

    What I mean is... my Groupwise incoming server domain name doesn't have groupwise, mail, imap, or anything else that would identify it as such in it. :D
     
  7. swindmill thread starter macrumors 6502a

    swindmill

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    KY
    #7
    OK, thanks. I just need to learn more about Groupwise I suppose.

    Just a thought I had: Would it be possible to forward all Gwise email to Gmail, and then set that account up in Mail?
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    In our groupwise, I think you can do that from within the actual groupwise software on a windows PC, but our admins have disabled it because of HIPAA issues... Here is the page from our IT people about how it's supposedly done:

    http://phhp.ufl.edu/it/help/forward/

    I guess you could try doing this and seeing if it works. :eek: If it does, then apparently this feature is enabled at your site.
     

Share This Page