mail.app url broken by line break

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by motulist, Feb 26, 2006.

  1. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #1
    When I send a link from mail.app if the link address goes past 1 line then my recipient can't click the address they have to copy n paste it. Is there anyway to change that?

    p.s. I searched the forum and couldn't find the answer.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Instead of pasting the link directly, try right clicking (CONTROL-CLICK) on a selected word and selecting Edit Link before pasting the URL. It looks neater. :)
     
  3. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #3
    Yes, I would also appreciate an answer to this.

    Some people I have sent links to didn't even know to cut and paste into their browser's address bar, necessitating follow-up emails explaining the concept.

    Good grief.
     
  4. motulist thread starter macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #4
    I'm on 10.3 and I don't see that in the contextual menu when clicking a word in mail.app. Do I need 10.4 for that? If so, is there a way to get the same effect in 10.3?
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    Sorry, it's been a long time since I've used Panther. I didn't realise 10.3 didn't have this feature... Unless the word isn't selected... :eek:
     
  6. Lau Guest

    #6
    I just tried this in Panther, and sadly these are the only options you get: :(

    [​IMG]

    Bummer, cause as BV says, a lot of people aren't really on the ball with this sort of stuff.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    Crap. I get this in Tiger...
     

    Attached Files:

  8. motulist thread starter macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #8
    Anyone know a work around? I just tried to use the html anchor code and sent a test to someone, but I'm still waiting back for a reply. Using parentheses instead of great than and less than signs, I tried

    (a href="http://www.long.url.com") click here (/a)

    I'll report back here when I find out if it worked or not.
     
  9. Lau Guest

    #9
    That would be great if it did work - I much prefer this sort of link to this: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/4752328.stm sort of link! I've tried it with forum type brackets and html and assumed it couldn't be done, so if it does work that'll be great.
     
  10. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #10
    To include an URL in a plain text message, you can use the syntax

    <URL:http://www.macrumors.com/>

    Some (not all) mail clients can put the pieces of a line-broken URL back together if this scheme is used.

    If it's not important to keep the links private, you might also lean on http://tinyurl.com , http://makeashorterlink.com and so on.
     
  11. motulist thread starter macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #11
    NONE of the following systems worked.
    _______________________________________________

    <a href="http://www.marketwatch.com/News/Story/Story.aspx?guid={1886F15A-756B-4644-8474-F534305073AD}&source=blqyhoo&dist=yhoo&siteid=yhoo">
    test 1 </a>






    test 2

    <URL:http://www.marketwatch.com/News/Story/Story.aspx?guid={1886F15A-756B-4644-8474-F534305073AD}&source=blq/yhoo&dist=yhoo&siteid=yhoo>






    test 3


    <URL:"http://www.marketwatch.com/News/Story/Story.aspx?guid={1886F15A-756B-4644-8474-F534305073AD}&source=blq/yhoo&dist=yhoo&siteid=yhoo">
     

Share This Page