Mail questions...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Mavimao, Jan 24, 2007.

1. Mavimao macrumors 6502a

Mavimao

OK, I've decided that I want to use my desktop mail client to email my friends instead of webmail. Here is my unique situation.

Already on mail, I have an old IMAP account from college that went debunk a couple of years ago. An inbox and a series of folders.

I have a yahoo account that I have been using for several years with which I have amassed a good deal of emails I would like to keep.

Now, I am going to switch to gmail because I want to use POP. For my new gmail account I want to include my old IMAP emails and import my yahoo emails onto one account on Mail.app.

I hear it's possible to physically drag emails from different accounts in mail, correct? So if I create the gmail account in mail, all I would have to do is drag the folders over, right?

Now the yahoo equation. Using freepops, I should be able to import my yahoo account. Does anyone know if freepops imports folders, as well?

So if all goes well I should:

- Create a gmail account, and then set up the POP on mail.app.

- Drag the old imap inbox + folders into the mail.app gmail account.

- Set up a yahoo mail.app account and using freepops import my yahoo emails. After my inbox + folders are imported, I can drag them into the gmail account on mail.app.

- delete the old imap and yahoo mail.app accounts to have one single account.

Am I crazy? Thank you for your help.

2. swiftaw macrumors 603

swiftaw

Can't help you with your Yahoo question but you certainly can drag mail from one account to another inside of mail.app. I do this all the time between my gmail account and my .mac account.

3. Mavimao thread starter macrumors 6502a

Mavimao

Wait I just thought of something. Can I just change the settings of my old IMAP account to what will be my new gmail account? That way, my old IMAP emails will still be there and save me an additional step?