Main HDD is RAIDED. I need Windows via Bootcamp still..? What to do?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mythlin, Aug 2, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #1
    Hello,
    I have a 2008 Mac Pro and I have 4 500GB HDD's in a RAID 0 and that RAID 0 cluster is my boot drive for Lion. When trying to do an Bootcamp Partition, it says I cannot run the Bootcamp installer because of the RAID. I have a couple of IDE Drives and can put one of them in my Optical Drive Bay Area. Now, what I would like some help one is if, once the IDE Drive is installed. Can I make Bootcamp run off that IDE Drive and or can I skip Bootcamp all together and just boot off the IDE Drive and install it like that?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks in advance,
    Mythlin
    :apple:
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    getz76

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Hell, AL
    #2
    Install the IDE drive, run the Bootcamp assistant, select the IDE drive, and go from there.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #3
    I was going to say just bypass Boot camp altogether. I never use it. Boot to Win disc and reformat target drive. Install better drivers and your good and not running graphic drivers released last year.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #4
    Sweet, will do! Thanks for the help!
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #5
    Hey, thanks for the help. I think I'm going to try just booting from the Windows Disc and see how that hoes, but, thanks again!
     
  6. macrumors 601

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    Backup your OS X drive before installing Windows. Seriously.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #7
    You only NEED boot camp when you are partitioning a single disk. Since we have multiple bays...
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #8
    Yeah, good idea. Haha, I did! Didn't want to take any chances!
     
  9. macrumors 601

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #9
    The word "Bootcamp" is used in all sort of interesting ways in this thread.

    There is Bootcamp Assistant, which is an application in OS X that enables you to prep a hard drive for installing Windows. If you only have one hard drive, it partitions the drive and sets up the partition for the Windows installer.

    If you have multiple drives, you don't need Bootcamp Assistant. Just pick the empty drive when installing Windows.

    Many people complain that the Windows installer worked perfectly in installing Windows on the proper drive, but also made their OS X drive unbootable. I have personally experienced this myself. This is why I say make a backup. In subsequent Windows installations, I simply popped out the OS X drive during installation to ensure the Windows installer didn't mess with it.

    There are also Bootcamp drivers for Windows. These are drivers that enable Windows to use your Mac hardware properly. They also provide a utility for selecting the boot disk if you want to reboot into OS X directly from Windows. After you install the Bootcamp drivers you should install the latest video drivers from the video card manufacturer.
     
  10. macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #10
    Weird. Never had this happen. But also I always have fresh backup's before I do pretty much anything on my gear.
     
  11. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004

Share This Page