Major AppleTV (2010) problems all of a sudden.

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by iMJustAGuy, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #1
    It all started when I came home tonight. I noticed that the ATV was not asleep and I had been gone for hours and it sleeps after an hour normally. Then it was responding to the remote. I could see the LED blink as if it was receiving the command but nothing happened. Eventually, it started working and I was streaming music from my Mac.

    About 2 songs later I decide to hit "next" on the remote and the ATV just suddenly rebooted. Well I start streaming again and do some things around the house and in the middle of a song I hear the audio halt and I go to look and it was as if someone had hit next and started playing a video (whatever was next in my library). So when I hit next again it displayed the attached image and the numbers were all distorted, if you will.

    I purchased mine at launch and haven't had a single thing wrong until this evening. I texted my friend and he said he has had the remote issues as well. Is anyone else experiencing anything like this? I MRoogled it and couldn't find anything.

    Could it possibly be the iTunes 10.1 beta? I would think not because my friend is running 10.0.1.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
  3. thread starter macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #3
    It's just displaying those numbers for no apparent reason. And the loading circle would just spin and spin after that.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #4
    Bought mine at launch as well, running 10.1 beta and no issues so far... Playing music last night worked like normal.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #5
    I'm thinking it has nothing to do with 10.1 as my friend has been having troubles with his remote like I am (less the reboots and glitches) and is running 10.0.1.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #6
    I know. I was just messing with ya. :)
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Location:
    La Grande, Oregon, USA
    #7
    Try rebooting

    Twice now I have had to manually reboot my new :apple:TV. I do the whole thing, unplug the HDMI cable from the TV and the power plug from the power strip, and plug them back in after 30 seconds. After it reboots it works just fine again. And no, you don't lose all the home network information and Netflix password by doing that.

    I've had to do the same thing on my DVD recorder before also (and satellite TV), so it is an electronics issue with many products, not just Apple.
     

Share This Page