Major iMac G5 problem! please help

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Solafaa, Nov 7, 2004.

  1. Solafaa macrumors 6502a

    Solafaa

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Daddy said not to talk to strangers
    #1
    There is what happend.

    I got a brand new iMac G5 from ebay it is in working conditions and there is no problems with it. I pluged it into my 240 volts socket and when i switch the socket switch on i heard a BIG BANK and blue lights came out of the bottem on the G5. I was not looking directly at it so i have no idea what exaclly happend.

    I am about to go to bed now so please leave messages so when i wake up i can fix it or do the next best thing.

    - Can i change the power suply?
    - can i put a temp one for teh time being?
    - i live out side the US/Europe and only have apple reselers who know not much about apple products.

    Please help
     
  2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    If you got it on eBay from somebody in the US, it probably has a 100-120V power supply...

    No universal power supply in US models, so you probably fried the computer when you plugged in into a 240V didn't use a converter to drop the voltage.

    Only way to get it working is to start replacing things...

    Since you actually saw the electricity destroying you machine.

    Check the original packaging/manuals, it probably will list the power requirements.
     
  3. dornoforpyros macrumors 68040

    dornoforpyros

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #3
    yeah dude I gotta say it sounds like you just fried you new computer.
     
  4. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #4
    Sounds like you'll be buying ANOTHER iMac G5 very soon! Thats what you get for buying something like that from eBay! I'd just get it from Apple and you won't have to wait very much longer for it. Then you know its going to work and is the correct model for your country.

    You'll probably have to change the power supply, logicboard (Motherboard), possibly the processor, and possibly the RAM. So you better be a good ********ter to AppleCare or else you'll be looking at some very expensive repairs.
     
  5. Solafaa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Solafaa

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Daddy said not to talk to strangers
    #5
    I took it to an apple workshop they said they will call me when they have any info. The crazy thing is i had a convertor but i forgot to use it, i always just pulg apples into my my socket and things work.

    Oh well i have my fingers crossed.
     
  6. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #6
    To make the Power Supply fit into there, the iMac G5 is not auto-voltage-switching. Someone else friend their iMac this way to too long ago...

    ALWAYS check your voltages before plugging them in. Especially new ones. You are now the not-so-proud owner of a 17" (or 20") paperweight.
     
  7. Solafaa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Solafaa

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Daddy said not to talk to strangers
    #7
    So you mean i should just put it in thr trash?
     
  8. colocolo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    #8
    I'm sorry, but I think you're out of luck. When I first read your post I was sure the problem was another, since every Apple product I have owned (save for an ImageWriter II) has worked in the 100-240v range. According to the tech specs, though, this iMac has two versions, depending on the country( why did they do this?).

    I guess you'll just have to get a new one... good luck.
     
  9. timnosenzo macrumors 6502a

    timnosenzo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    ct, us
    #9
    How were you even able to plug it in? Isn't the physical plug a different shape? :confused:
     
  10. Solafaa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Solafaa

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Daddy said not to talk to strangers
    #10
    I have my ways :)

    I used an adapter.

    GREAT NEWS!!! :)

    I took it to the apple workshop and they fixed it :) i am using it now to on this forum :) Thanks god omg i was sooo happy when it worked.
     
  11. jackieonasses macrumors 6502a

    jackieonasses

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    the great OKLAHOMA....
    #11
    for future reference....DON'T use an adapter... anyways you are really really lucky that they fixed it.
     
  12. Solafaa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Solafaa

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Daddy said not to talk to strangers
    #12
    I am a very good customer of theres, they even left the workshop open an extra 1 hour to fix it :). I am using a power convertor now (110 to 240), i cant tell you how lucky i am, after i heard the BIG bang (sounded like a bomb) and the blue light i was 99% sure that the iMac was dead.

    The good thing out of this is i will never do this mistake again.
     
  13. paulypants macrumors 6502a

    paulypants

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
  14. bostonwhaler1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #14
    Yeah, it's definately cooked. Chuck it out. :D

    Actually, chuck it in a box and ship it this way! :cool:

    You're lucky man!
     

Share This Page