Major Problem!!! (I think)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by surfer99, Nov 22, 2006.

1. surfer99 macrumors 6502

I am brand new to the mac world so I am not exactly sure what is going on. I just decided to let my macbook check for updates. It found 3 things it needed to update. After updating it said that I needed to restart or shutdown my computer in order for the updates to take effect. I choose to restart it. When it restarted all I get is a bluish white screen (before you even get to log into the mac osx system) whith a folder that has question mark in it! I dont even get the chance to put my password in to get into the computer. So basically I cannot even use my computer. I am typing this on my windows based desktop right now. What is going on? I am really hoping that I did not lose all my info or anything. I have had my mac for just a couple weeks and I just recently migrated all my docs from my windows based pc to my macbook. Please any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. bartelby macrumors Core

Have you tried booting from the Install DVD/CD?

Try holding the "option" button on startup and it'll give you a choice of available systems.

3. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

SmurfBoxMasta

The folder w/ ? means that the system cant find a bootable start-up disk. So boot from the install disk, open system prefs, set the start up disk (be sure to clik the padlock in the lower right corner) to your HD, and reboot !

4. surfer99 thread starter macrumors 6502

5. surfer99 thread starter macrumors 6502

Another stupid question from the mac newbie....Where is the option button located?

6. Raid macrumors 68020

Raid

Nothing is for certain, but I'm willing to bet your data will be there.
    Ok you must be panicking... take a deep breath (it's going to be ok), and look to the left of your space bar. The option key is there (maybe they should have said option key eh?). :)

7. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

WildCowboy

Staff Member