Major Torchlight problem :-(

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by chaosbunny, May 17, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68000

    chaosbunny

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    down to earth, far away from any clouds
    #1
    So I landed in this secret room after doing "stab" attacks in the middle of a couple of monsters and now I can't get out. Town portals don't work, "stabing" out of the room doesn't work, and trying to sync the old savegame from my second mac resulted in having this corrupted savegame on both of my machines. Does anyone have an idea?

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors member

    Slux

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #2
    Sounds pretty serious :(

    I'd be looking for a way to kill myself (is there a suicide key in Torchlight?) and ressurect in town or at the start of the level.

    Can you move around the room at all? If you send your pet back to town are you able to follow the path it takes out?

    Sadly, Town Portals not working makes it sound like this is definitely a glitch :(
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    #3
    you would probably have a lot more success posting in torchlight forum
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #4
    bigger problem: since the steam update today, i can't play my torchlight toon. it has no "continue" button, and it won't let me reload my dude. it also says "demo version" in my bottom left corner. if i click quit then everything goes to hell, torchlight refuses to quit or let me click anything. command tab lets me change stuff (judging by the alert tones when i press command q and other various buttons) but my screen won't change. when it finally quits it gives me some crap about steam cloud not being supported so i cant save anything. wtf?
     
  5. macrumors member

    Slux

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #5
    This is interesting, I just checked and I have this problem too!

    Must be a steam-wide issue. Think it's time to check the official forum as per the good advice above.

    Edit, yes this is a very widespread problem, expect another patch soon: http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1273256
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #6
    I too am getting the "Demo" tag. But it seemed to play OK but I'm still before where the demo ended. Also found that it locked up on exit. :(

    Hope they update soon.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    chaosbunny

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    down to earth, far away from any clouds
    #7
    In the meantime I had the "demo bug" too, but the last steam update solved that, at least for me...

    I'm still locked though, tried the torchlight forum and I am waiting for answers. Oh well, new character I guess, which sucks because I just had to start a new one since you can't migrate Torchlight Windows savegames.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #8
    yeah, mine is fixed now too.

    that sucks you got stuck. i don't know what to do, nothing is more irritating than that. happens to me a lot in borderlands, then i realized i can grenade myself out. no such luck in torchlight i guess.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #9
    are you trying to migrate from windows to mac?

    how about trying windows to windows steam version.

    get your save files and install steam for windows but in offline mode then see if your save files can be carried over to the steam version. then go back online and see if it can update torchlight with the new info which should carry over to the mac version?

    dont know if any of this will work just a thought in my head.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68000

    chaosbunny

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    down to earth, far away from any clouds
    #10
    I got out. The solution was activating the console and type "ascend" – this brought me back to the city since I was in a special dungeon.

    As for syncing PC characters to Mac, I tried that but it didn't work, even though the files have the same extensions. A quick google search revealed that this seems to be impossible for now.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #11


    grats.


    i was trying to make it more complicated then it had to be. but sounds like your free.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    tkingart

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    West Coast
    #12
    If you have the "demo" bug, right-click (or cmd+click) on TorchLight in the Steam client list ( library > games ) then select "properties", then click on the button "SET LAUNCH OPTIONS...", if you see anything in there, remove it, such as -SAFEMODE=1 or -SAFEMODE=0, just remove it entirely, and click on OK then CLOSE. That should fix it.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #13
    the recent steam update fixed it.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #14
    can you please tell me how to get the console on Mac. I have set console: 1 in the settings.txt, but what key combination opens the console ingame?

    EDIT: found out, Shift+<
     

Share This Page