Make a link live

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by lovematch, May 10, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    lovematch

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    Central Southern England
    #1
    How can I make a link live.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    You need to explain further.
     
  3. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #3
    Do you mean like if you paste a link into an email? If won't be clickable (live) when you paste it in, but then the email is received the recipient's email client will see it as a link and make it into a clickable link. You can send a test email to yourself and it will do the same thing.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    lovematch

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    Central Southern England
    #4
    I can do this on an e-mail but when passing one to a forum it isn't live.
     
  5. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #5
    Ah... gotcha. It needs to have HTML code around the link to work. When in the message compose window click the globe I marked in my screenshot then paste the link into the popup box. That will surround your link with the HTML code required.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    lovematch

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    Central Southern England
    #6

    I have an Apple Mountain lion Computer and doesn't show these setting as explained.
     
  7. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #7
    It will be there if you click reply to my message it will look like the screenshot below. Other forums may look a little different, but they all have some variation of this same setup.

    Just to clarify, you are asking about posting a link here in this forum?

    [​IMG]
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    lovematch

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    Central Southern England
    #8

Share This Page