Make firefox faster?

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by jcnoob, Sep 19, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #1
    sometimes it take ages for me to start firefox on my leopard.
    is there a way to prefetch firefox on startup or tweak it so it's faster? (dont say anything about about:config) should i switch to camino? i just want a nice browser/fast page loading and startup
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #2
    System Preferences -> Accounts -> Login Items -> Add Firefox to the list and set it to hide. This will launch FF at startup and it will be instantly available to you when you need it :)
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    pit29

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    The Golden State
    #3
    Use WebKit (webkit.org)!
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #4
    umm i dont want the application to open at startup. what i mean is like how windows preload some of IE's files and stuff at boot so when you launch it it's much faster.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    arjen92

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Below sea level
    #5
    That's what darkcurse is saying.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #6
    Well, other than opening the application at startup there is no real way of "pre-loading" Firefox to make it start faster etc. If you do it my way, it will launch then be hidden so you don't actually see it until you need it. Win-win IMO :)
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    Firefox Tweak to speed loading

    I came across this suggestion in one of my windows forums last night to speed up loading of the browser. It also works in firefox 3 for Mac:


    "Start Firefox3 and go to Tools Menu >>> Option >>> (in the new window) chose Advanced >>> Network Tab >>>
    (in connection Table) press Setting button >>> (in the new window) chose Manual Proxy Configuration >>>
    type in the HTTP Proxy Field: 127.0.0.1 >>> and Port: 0 >>> click OK >>> click OK >>> restart your firefox3"

    no need to uninstall any Adds-ons , Extension , Plugins . . .
    no need to change your security setting , firewall , anti virus . . .
    no need to clean your firefox3 cache , history , cookies . . .
    no need to restart your windows Xp , Vista
    no need to change , uninstall , disable your firewall and anti virus
     

Share This Page