Make Mission Control Button open Dashboard

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by 3bs, Jul 4, 2012.

  1. 3bs
    macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #1
    I just upgraded from a late 2010 MBA to a mid 2012 MBA so I'm used to having a physical button for Dashboard and would like to make it so I can access the Dashboard using the Mission control button without having to use the function key or any other keys. What can I do to get this work?
     
  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    One option is to use a hot corner to access the Dashboard. I find it's very efficient.
     
  3. 3bs
    thread starter macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #3
    I know but like I said, I'm just so used to having a button for it. Any ideas how to get this to work? In Preferences > Mission Control > Show Dashboard can't be set to use the button.

    I know an app called Spark that can let you make custom keyboard shortcuts but I don't know how to get it to do this.
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #4
    Try BetterTouchTool; it allows you to set your own key for Dashboard.
     
  5. 3bs
    thread starter macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #5
    I use it but even with it, when I go to input the keyboard shortcut to create a new one I can't press the Mission Control button without activating it.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #6
    Run these two commands in Terminal. The first turns off launchpad on the key code. The second turns on Dashboard.

    Code:
    
    defaults write com.apple.symbolichotkeys AppleSymbolicHotKeys -dict-add 160 "{enabled = 0; value = { parameters = (65535, 131, 0); type = 'standard'; }; }"
    defaults write com.apple.symbolichotkeys AppleSymbolicHotKeys -dict-add 62 "{enabled = 1; value = { parameters = (65535, 131, 0); type = 'standard'; }; }"
    
     
  7. 3bs
    thread starter macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #7
    Thank you but before I try this, is this reversible and what are the commands?
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #8
    It is reversible.

    Code:
    defaults write com.apple.symbolichotkeys AppleSymbolicHotKeys -dict-add 160 "{enabled = 1; value = { parameters = (65535, 131, 0); type = 'standard'; }; }"
    defaults write com.apple.symbolichotkeys AppleSymbolicHotKeys -dict-add 62 "{enabled = 0; value = { parameters = (65535, 131, 0); type = 'standard'; }; }"
    
    (reverses the enabled flag)
     
  9. 3bs
    thread starter macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #9
    Didn't work. I wanted to replace the Mision Control key though not the Launchpad key.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    #10
    if you have 4-finger swipe set for the trackpad, 4-finger swipe up shows all desktops, and the far left screen is the dashboard. 4-finger left and right switches between the different desktops.
     
  11. 3bs
    thread starter macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #11
    Thank you. I'm also aware of that but I want to use the Mission Control key alone to access Dashboard. Nothing else.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #12
    I'd like to use my Dashboard key (early 2011 mbp) to launch Dashboard. Now the effin' Launchpad comes up. Fn-F12 works, but that is also not how I'm used to use this machine. I presume that the change of my logic board is the reason why the key binding is now wrong, because nothing else has happened.

    Can anyone help me to the correct codes? I'm not interested in losing F4 by flipping it. Also, deleting ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.symbolichotkeys.plist did nothing, only removed a lot of previous bindings.
     

Share This Page