Make my ibook g3 quick please

Discussion in 'macOS' started by efree58, Feb 26, 2006.

1. efree58 macrumors newbie

Ok, I'm new to Mac's. I have the OS 10.4.5 installed on my 500mhz ibook with 384mb ram and 8mb ATI Rage graphics. It is really sluggish. Scrolling, and trying to click sux. Could someone tell me if I could turn off some features and pretties to make my ibook less sluggish. Would panther run alot better? Any help would be awesome.

2. ITASOR macrumors 601

ITASOR

Use only a minimal number of dashboard widgets.

You really need to boost your RAM to 640MB (max)...that will make a huge difference.

3. rye9 macrumors 65816

rye9

If you want to turn off some "pretties", you can open System Preferences, go under Dock, turn off magnification; and minimize using Scale effect instead of genie effect. Also, you can turn bluetooth and airport off if your not using them. Finally, you can adjust settings in Energy Saver such as processor performance. BTW, all of these are accessed through System Preferences.

Also, make sure to delete any applications you wont use. There are probably other things I am forgetting, so you should try and search the forums. You'd be surprised at how much useful info you'll find... especially on the topic you need help with, many people ask things like that. Well, I did at least when I was new. :D

4. this is funah macrumors 6502

this is funah

i have a 500mHz g3 dual usb iBook as well, with the 640mb RAM.. it works quite well and is very usable for daily tasks. you should really upgrade the ram.

5. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

QCassidy352

it's not going to be all that snappy. That ibook was made to run OS 9, and it did so quite well. I used to have a 600 mhz ibook, and it never ran OS X right. It was "usable" with 640 RAM, but 8 MB VRAM and a slow G3 processor are just not going to be snappy under OS X. Sorry. :(

6. efree58 thread starter macrumors newbie