Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Gennady46

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 3, 2012
Aug 3, 2012 1:16 AM
Hi, finally I installed Xcode on a Mac OS. This is my first time. I am sure there are tutorials and videos out there, but I would want to be on a right direction

without waisting any time. Basically I have made C++ application on PC under Windows 7. What it does it asks for input(s) like number(s) and makes

calculations and outputs in a process depending on an entry. It uses for example: scanf("%s",st), cout << , cnn >> , goto Loop; uses a lot of Arrays[] and so

on... It also uses "Enter" key on a key board to input a number.

Now, I would like to make an app for iPod touch, like for example at the beginning image will appear, once is double clicked, it would take me to that program

enviroment, and it will be asking for inputs and would output the same way on iPod touch window.

Now, what type of application I have to make in Xcode? Can I just paste my original c++ code into working enviroment or I have to convert to Objective C ?

and if so how to substitute scanf, cout, cnn, "enter" key, goto statement and so on... ??? I am sure there are Objective C tutorials out there, but initially I can

paste my original code and compile, and go from there, so to make all necessary changes along the way, is that the way to do it?

And also if I want to quit an app I would hit a certain button, and it would quit at any time.

So could anyone direct me, give links, and so on...

Thanks in advance.

jamesr19

macrumors 6502
Nov 7, 2009
I suggest you get a book to learn the basics of iOS development and using Xcode.

Also remember you are developing for a touch screen mobile device. User interaction should be simple. Less is more (e.g. 1 touch to do a process is far superior to having to do two touches). You should conform to design standards for iOS - it will make your app easier to use