Making my iMac G5 Faster?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Kalinatek, Mar 13, 2006.

  1. Kalinatek macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    #1
    hey guys!

    its been some time since i last posted something here .. anyway ... i feel that my baby is getting slow .. so what can i do to make it faster ? any files to delete (maybe cache or temp files if there are any?) i delete safari's cache and history everyday but i still feel its slower than before.. it only has about 30 GB of Software+Mp3s and like 130GB of empty HD space .. and i've got 1GB Ram.


    thanks
     
  2. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #2
    A) Normal housekeeping. Use something like Onyx, CockTail, Macjanitor, or Macoroni for deleting system caches, temp files, old log files ect ect.. Also repair permissions with Disk Utility

    B) Directory maintenance: Use Diskwarrior or TechToolPro or Drive Genius

    C) Clone your HD to an external drive, erase & reformat the iMac's HD, then clone everything back to it. Use SuperDuper or CarbonCopyCloner. This wil defrag your HD completely, and if you're running Tiger, run Spotlight afterwards to re-index all your files.

    D) Max Da Ram :)
     
  3. cr2sh macrumors 68030

    cr2sh

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Location:
    downtown
    #3
    :)
    I just spent $300 on a 2GB chip and maxed my 2.1GHz G5 out.

    This little bump has really made a difference. I'm constantly opening 400mb tiff files and before it'd take a cool 5 minutes to get it open and now its there as soon as photoshop loads.

    Expensive... but there isn't going to be a better way of getting it done right.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    Other things you can do in terms of speed....

    - Have you picked up more running widgets over this time? See if you can rationalize.

    - You might try re-indexing spotllight. Sometimes the index gets a little wiggy and slows things down.
     
  5. Kalinatek thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    #5
    i dont use any widgets ...

    thanks Smurf and all of u guys :)
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    To see whether adding RAM would help you, run Activity Monitor, and see how many pageouts you're getting, if you haven't already. If the number is >> a few thousand, then it will probably help you to have more RAM, based on your usage profile.
     

Share This Page