Making Safari to Open Google Search in a New Tab

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by yustas, Jun 15, 2013.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    #1
    Hello,

    In Safari, when I select a word and do a "right click," one of the options is "Search with Google." To open it in a new tab, I need to hold the Command key, but is there a way to set it to always open in a new tab without pressing the Command key?

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #2
    Well... sort of.
    When you right-click, don't select "Search with Google," instead go to "Services" and select the "Search with Google" there. That one will open in a new tab.

    Not much of a solution, but it's the best I've got.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    #3
    I wonder why the "services" path opens it in a new window, but the shorter path does not. Strange.
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #4
    As it's in a Menu, you should be able to make a keyboard shortcut for it. Not sure how though. :(
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    #5
    There is a way to do that, but the whole idea is not to use the keyboard.
     
  6. macrumors member

    DavidMarks

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    #6
    Check this out:

    http://pilotmoon.com/popclip/

    It does the trick, you never have to touch the keyboard, and apart from allowing you to google selected text on a new tab, you can also copy, paste, and a zillion other things.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    aaronvan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    I can see Puget Sound from here
    #7
    You can do a Google search with one hand not using the keyboard:

    1. Highlight word.
    2. Select "Search with Google" from Services.

    Search results pops open in a new tab.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    #8
    Simply hold Command when you click Search With Google in the right click menu to open the results in a new tab.
     
  9. macrumors member

    MLinneer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Location:
    Sherman, TX
    #9
    My installs may be different but I have 2 "Search with Google" entries in the right click popup menu on both Safari 7.01 on my MBA and in Safari 6.1.1 on my iMac running 10.7. The top one opens search results in the same tab and the bottom one opens in a new tab.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. macrumors member

    MLinneer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Location:
    Sherman, TX
    #10
    I should add...

    Both my installs are updates, not clean fresh installs. I had Lion when I bought the Macbook Air and imported everything with Migration Assistant. Then I just did the upgrades to Mountain Lion and Mavericks rather than reinstall everything. I also used to run Glims on both machines and I think it adds some search features. Maybe the 2nd search menu item is an artifact from when I removed Glims? It works though so I've never done anything about it.
     
  11. macrumors member

    IndyBob

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    This is the way mine is also.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #12
    System Preferences > Keyboard > Shortcuts > Services and check "Search with Google"

    It creates a new menu command to open in a new tab, but you will still see the old one at the top which is kind of annoying. I don't know why they didn't just make it the default behavior to begin with, Apple can be so difficult at times.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Cassady

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Location:
    Sqornshellous
    #13
    Alternatively, look at Popclip? Costs a few $$, but brings plenty to the table. It has a Google search option, which opens directly in a new tab - with a search of the selected text.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    #14

    Sorry for bumping an old thread BUT I am wondering if anyone figured out how to remove the top google search, I never use it and its annoying seeing 2 of them in the right click menu. (I prefer the one that opens in a new tab on the bottom)
     

Share This Page