Making the switch help... Wireless internet & airport

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by al3000, Oct 16, 2005.

  1. al3000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Hi all,

    I am currently using a PC connected to aol broadband using a usb adsl modem. I plan to make the switch by buying a PB & an iMac. AOL don't support macs, so I will probably join f2s or plus.net. With not having done wireless before.. I am finding it hard to understand what I need! I have realised now that I probably do not need apple airport.. would I be able to get the internet and use it wirelessly on something like this http://www.netgear.com/products/details/DG834G.php ? I would plan to use both the macs wirelessly.

    One thing that is confusing me..and it is probably so simple - I just can't understand how I can configure the modem/router (as above) to dial up the right number? Or do I have to pair my macs with it, and then configure it using one of them? As you can probably tell I am very confused so if anyone could shed any light I would really appreciate it! :D :)
     
  2. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #2
    ADSL modems don't dial a number. You just need an ethernet ADSL modem rather than USB one. Plusnet do one for £30 when you sign up if you go with them. To configure it, you plug it into one of your Macs using ethernet, use a browser to go to the routers config panel using the local IP address given in the manual and then enter your broadband username/password in the settings.

    To share the connection, there are two options. Either set up your iMac for sharing (if it's always going to be on) and use its wifi to share the internet with the Powerbook. Or rather than buy a plain ethernet modem, get one that's a wireless ethernet modem (about £70 on Amazon at the mo) and then you can have both machines wireless.
     
  3. al3000 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #3

    Thanks a lot. Would the hardware I linked to (http://www.netgear.com/products/details/DG834G.php) be suitable for this? I would like to have the internet available on both macs at any time, so I would prefer not to run it through the iMac. Would I have to wirelessly connect the iMac at any point, eg. to set it up?

    Thanks again
     
  4. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #4
    Should be fine. You'll set up the wireless network with one of the Macs connected to the router. Then you'll let both Macs find the new network (if it's not hidden, it will find it automatically, if you hide the network, you'll have to enter the name) and enter the network password and you should be online! ;)
     
  5. Aliquis macrumors regular

    Aliquis

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #5
    Should work well. Most, if not all, wireless routers - Linksys, Netgear, D-Link, etc. will all work with macs. The line between macs and pcs with compatibility is almost vanished with OSX.
     

Share This Page