Making the switch!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Nlkead, Oct 31, 2004.

1. Nlkead macrumors newbie

Oct 26, 2004
    Hello, new here.

I'm finally making the switch-- I'm ditching my Dell Inspiron 8100 (The WORST purchase I've ever made-- great for a year, completely fell apart on me after that) for a mac. I'm familiar with macs, and like 'em a lot, and, despite my old laptop's many problems, loved the whole portability thing. So, I've decided on a powerbook-- I'm going to wait 'til January or early February of '05, for various reasons. But, first, I have a few questions:

1. Do you think, by the time I purchase my PB, it'll be upgraded? I'm new to the mac world, so I don't now how this stuff works. I've heard some stuff from friends who have macs about new powerbooks in the fall, I don't know if that's true or not...

2. 12 inch or 15? My Dell was a 15, and while it wasn't exactly a behemoth, it was a little too big for my tastes. I went to the mac store recently to compare sizes, and I liked both, although I felt the 12 was more portable. The 15 seemed nicer, and it certainly is. I'd like a 1.5 ghz machine... if the 12 inch was updated to something around there, I'd totally go for it. But now? Hmmm....

3. I have a 2wire wireless network in my house. Will a PB work with it? My Airport Express (for airtunes, of course) works fine, although it took a while to figure out how to set it up. After that, it was a synch. Also, do PBs ship with wireless cards installed, or do I need to buy one?

Anyway, thanks for the help. I can't wait to get a new mac!
  2. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

Dec 26, 2002
    Albuquerque, NM
    Duff-Man says...

1) Apple has said that there will be no new Powerbooks until next year...MacWorld San Francisco is in early january so it is possible something will be announced then...but what that is, well, it is too early to get any reliable rumours.