Managing library on an iPod

Discussion in 'iPod' started by DeSnousa, Sep 24, 2007.

  1. macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #1
    Hey guys, just wondering how people on this forum go about searching through their large iPod library?

    I ask this question because I decided to purchase a iPod classic today, its great and I got it because I have a library of over 6000 songs. All those songs which I thought would be good to have are beginning to irritate me, simply because finding an artist becomes a pain. It becomes a pain because I have so many complications, and thus large amounts of artists with a single song.

    This leads to my second question, is there any way to remove complications artists from the artists section of the iPod? I believe my 2nd gen. iPod did.

    I really just want to know how I'm going to manage a large iPod library?

    Thanks in advance for your responses :)
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #2
    a related library management question

    Not to hijack your thread, but to consolidate: I'd also like to know how one can manage 2 libraries (i.e., one AppleLossless & one compressed mp3s).
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    RumMunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    I think I follow you...

    Under preferences, make sure "Group compilations when browsing" is checked:

    [​IMG]

    And it will keep all albums marked with the "compilations" flag together (so you don't end up with many artists each with 1 or 2 songs).

    [​IMG]


    On your iPod (assuming 5G or earlier... the original interface) go to "Settings" then "Main Menu", and make sure "Compilations" is "on".
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    RumMunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Hold down the "alt / optn" key when you launch iTunes and you can select to load one of any number of libraries in any location (local or on an external drive or I believe even on a network share).

    [​IMG]
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #5
    Thanks for the response, I have that already ticked on iTunes. Its a really big irritation, surly there is a fix for the problem.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    RumMunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Maybe I have the problem wrong then. Can you explain it differently?
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Hertford, England
    #7
    iTunes groups compilations, but the iPod classic doesn't :( and I don't think there's a setting for it (yet)
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    RumMunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    Oh wow. Didn't know that. Why would they drop that on the classic? Does the Nano? My touch does.

    Losing that feature would make me lose my mind I think!
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #9
    The "Settings" menu option should have a setting for turning Compilations on or Off.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    RumMunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    Actually.... I think I stand corrected. It appears you can't group compilations on the touch (or rather, it ignores that feature when set in iTunes.).

    Anybody with a touch have compilations grouped and NOT listed in the "artist" view?
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #11
    I have that setting on, but it does not group complications together.

    It is really starting to irritate me, as the albums view has really the only use to me. The artists view just throws out ridiculous amounts of artists like 'David Guetta Vs. The Egg'.
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #12
    Are all the compilations properly done in iTunes?

    If so, file a bug report w/ Apple.
     

Share This Page