Map the CTRL key to the command key?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Funbags, Mar 21, 2006.

  1. Funbags macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    #1
    Hello All,

    Is there a easy way to Map the CTRL key to the command key?

    Reason is so I can use CTRL C to copy.

    Or map the command key Tab to ALT TAB to switch windows, etc instead of the or in addition to the command key.

    Thanks
    - John
     
  2. tag macrumors 6502a

    tag

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    PA, US
    #2
    Ok, so you just want to switch the control key with the command key correct?

    You can change the keys by going into 'System Preferences' > 'Keyboard & Mouse' > 'Keyboard' > then click on the 'Modifier Keys...' button. You can then change/swap any of the modifer keys you want.
     
  3. Funbags thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    #3
    Sorry, I realized I should have been more clear, my fault.

    Is there a way to change copy and paste to CTRL + C and CTRL + P
    And Tab windows to ALT + TAB
     
  4. tag macrumors 6502a

    tag

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    PA, US
    #4
    Hmm sorry, I don't have a clue then, and changing a paste shortcut so that it would use CTRL + P is even harder(actually I'm not sure its even possible) since that would normally default to print instead of paste (Unless you meant ctrl+v in which case never mind). Not sure if it can be done without some third party software(which I personally haven't heard of).

    Just curious, from the way you want to remap and the referring to an ALT key, a windows keyboard is annoying you here? ;)
     
  5. Funbags thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    #5
    Yes, CTRL + V :)

    Yes I have a windows keyboard heh.. I keep hitting the wrong keys, driving me nuts.
     
  6. Funbags thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    #6
    I guess just changing the modifier key as you originally suggested worked ok, but the its ctrl-tab to change windows rather then alt-tab.

    Thanks!
    - John
     

Share This Page