mapping home directory?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by excalibur313, Sep 29, 2003.

  1. excalibur313 macrumors 6502a

    excalibur313

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #1
    My campus allows each student 100mb of web space which in windows we access through mapping our home directory. It gets set as the h drive and it connects to a server each time (\\mdomfnp03\users\jensens). It then asks for my username and password when i go to connect. How do i do this with a mac? I played around with the connect to server but can't really get any results.
    Thanks,
    Excalibur313
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Open up Connect to Server, then type smb://mdomfnp03/users and click Connect. Enter your username and password, and you'll get a list of directories. Find jensens and put an alias on your desktop or somewhere for easy access.

    If it doesn't connect to the server, then try entering its IP address - smb://x.x.x.x/users. You can determine its IP by navigating through the server structure in the Connect to Server dialogue box.

    Hopefully this is correct(ish), I'm really doing it from memory, plus I know nothing about the network you're trying to connect to. It's also possible that your Mac will have a hissy fit if you try to click the alias to your home when you don't have the network connected.

    Hope this helps anyway.
     
  3. excalibur313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    excalibur313

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #3
    well the first part worked. The problem is that it won't let me make an alias because it says i lack sufficient privileges. What do you suggest i do?
     
  4. excalibur313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    excalibur313

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #4
    it does let me make an alias to "users" in general
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    I'm not really sure. Maybe you'll just have to make do with going via Users every time. Shouldn't be too much of a hassle.
     

Share This Page