Marine Aquarium

Discussion in 'New Mac Application Announcements' started by Durandal7, Oct 24, 2002.

  1. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    #1
  2. macrumors 65816

    RBMaraman

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Location:
    Prospect, KY
    #2
    I had it, but once I installed Jaguar, it stopped functioning :(. Have they added a new Jaguar compatible version?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    #3
    They must. I'm not running it on Jaguar but in the CompUSA I was at today all the Powermacs are running it.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    RBMaraman

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Location:
    Prospect, KY
    #4
    Great. I really missed having this screen saver. It's probably the coolest one out there.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #5
    Works in 10.2

    I had it installed in 10.1, and after moving to 10.2, it continued to function normally (and does to this day). Maybe try going to versiontracker and downloading the latest version?
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    RBMaraman

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Location:
    Prospect, KY
    #6
    I just tried the version of Serene Scene's site and one I found on VersionTracker, both didn't work for me in Jaguar. I double click the application to open it and nothing happens. When I try to select the screen saver, nothing happens. Oh well, maybe it'll be fixed in a later version.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    NY
    #7
    works fine here too....

    do you have a legal serial number?
    ::also::
    make sure you are getting a "complete" download.

    AND one more thing... has anyone read this months mac(addict) ... theres a little hack in there to make the screen saver into your desktop background WITHOUT taking up too much of the CPU(s). im pretty sure its macaddict but it may be macworld. looks pretty neat with the aquarium. its amusing to watch people try to "exit" the screensaver when its actually just the background!!
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Location:
    boston
    #8
    i have the demo of it - works great in jaguar. i turned some settings down in the saver config panel - helped a lot and it doesn't look much different.

    but its expensive wouldn't you say?
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    teabgs

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Location:
    behind you
    #9

    would you mind posting that for those of us who dont have subscriptions? :D
     
  10. macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #10
    Thank you, had thought is was for Mac OS X only! :)
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    #11
    Instead of running the application, try copying the file "Marine Aquarium.saver" to /Library/Screen Savers/ and running it from the "Screen Effects" panel of the System Preferences. If it still crashes, then there is a conflict on your machine, but what is most likely is that the application itself is less stable than the screen saver.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    #12
    There are several applications/Preference Panes which can do it at VersionTracker, though I don't know how well they work. The easiest way to do it is to use the command line:

    /System/Library/Frameworks/ScreenSaver.framework/Resources/ScreenSaverEngine.app/Contents/MacOS/ScreenSaverEngine -background -module n

    where 'n' is the Screen Saver module you'd like to use, in this case, Marine Aquarium. If you leave off the module altogether, it will automatically choose the one you have selected in Screen Effects. Kinda neat if you have chosen Random.

    If you add '&' to the end of the command, it will put the process in the background. Otherwise, you'll be forced to keep the terminal window open while it runs. If you don't mind keeping the terminal window open, press Control-C to quit the screen saver as your desktop. Otherwise, you'll have to kill it using the ps and kill commands or using Process Viewer.

    Jared
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    RBMaraman

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Location:
    Prospect, KY
    #13
    Tried it, and it crashed. I'd agree that there is some sort of conflict with the app and my system. Maybe the next release will be more compatible.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    NY
    #14
    heres the trick (from macworld):
    Open terminal and type nice +20 /System/Library/Frameworks/ScreenSaver.framework/Resources/ScreenSaverEngine.app/Contents/MacOS/ScreenSaverEngine -background &.
    Hit enter to make it your background. Then terminal will give you a number, following [1]. Thats the number of this new process. To turn off the new effect you can just type in "kill #" where the # is the # of the process just given to you. The nice +20 in the command tells you to give attention to other processes when necessary thereby not bogging down your computer.

    as for thinking its expensive... how often does everyone REALLY buy legit software. paying $22 for something you will actually use often and is quite enjoyable to watch, i think its worth it. now over $400 for office, thats another story :p
     
  15. macrumors 68030

    teabgs

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Location:
    behind you
    #15
    Ok, thats really cool!

    Can I quit the terminal? or does that screw it up? I have it hidden now...man, unix is cool....I really gotta learn that stuff
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    #16
    You should be able to quit the terminal, it works on my computer.

    The nice +20 forces it to play nicely with others :D
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    springscansing

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #17
    Just for the record, it works fine for me under OS 10.2.1 on a DP G4/450, with some serial number that fell from the sky.

    I already deleted it though. That damn starfish drove me nuts! lol

    Flurry is better. :p

    Actually.. I'm back to OS 9 only for audio work anyway. *sobs* Damn Reaktor for being so cool.

    Also, I wouldn't advice running the fishies on the desktop. It was horribly slow on my computer. I did it via an app though, not the terminal with low priority assigned to it.

    - Springs
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    #18
    Just so you know, there is an option to disable the starfish.
     
  19. macrumors 68030

    teabgs

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Location:
    behind you
    #19
    Dont know why. but when I had it working my computer would not read dvd's. I killed it and they work fine...as long as the DVD is in before satrting the screensaver as the desktop the DVD works.....weird
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    #20
    Screen saver w/ two monitors

    I love this little trick, but does anyone out there know how to get a Screen Effect screen saver to work on both of your monitors if you've got an extra one hooked up?

    Heck, I'd settle for just getting the screen savers to be on my main 19" instead of the Powerbook display that it always uses.
     
  21. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    #21
    I've had it since it came out, no issues while running Jag either. I paid so I could have all the fish, love to see my PC user friends' faces when they see it on my CD.
     
  22. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #22
    Does anyone know if it runs over dual screens? (not on a TiBook like globalwidget, on a GF4MX in DP1Ghz)
     
  23. macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #23
    This is the most realistic screen saver out there. I run it on my 9600 w/Radeon PCI.

    I use it with the Desk Effects app, which acts as a GUI front-end to the terminal commands.

    It'll let you run the selected screen saver at startup, renice the priority, and select fore/background.

    >Just so you know, there is an option to disable the starfish.

    Looking at the screensaver, the option is just to disable it climbing on the glass. Or am I missing something?
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Location:
    England
    #24
    Well, on the plus side, as an ex C64 pro, its just great to see Sachs back in the saddle; go Jim!

    On the minus side, this is very buggy for something with a price tag.......

    I would take the shoulder shrug argument about iMac DV's, if it were freeware, but for $21.95, I expect more.

    Quake 3 runs just fine on my imac dv in 24 bit colour. What excuse as half a dozen fish flapping about got to offer?
     
  25. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    #25
    Ah, never mind.
     

Share This Page