Mavericks installation

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by Mike.Katz, Oct 24, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #1
    An interesting "bug" occurred when installing Mavericks. My Administrator password was needed. However, I do not have an administrator password as I always leave this blank. It was never set up.

    This time when prompted to enter the administrator password upon installation, and I left the field blank, it was not accepted.

    It was only after I went back to settings and established a password, then started the installation again and entered the new password was I able to proceed!
     
  2. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    It is not true that you did not have an Administrator password before. You had an Administrator password, but it was blank. This is a bad thing. This was permitted before. It appears that blank Administrator passwords are no longer permitted. This is a good thing.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Location:
    DC
    #3
    True, I hate having to set up a password as I use automatic login and practice safe networking. A blank password causes all sorts of problems though.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    #4
    hint is blank in administrator password

    I just had a new OSX 10.9 installed on my Macbook Pro. When I try to download Adobe it asks for the administrator's password and the hint is blank. I have left it blank and typed in the word blank but it still does not work. I have read that you can change your password using your apple ID but when i go to User Groups the box that I need to tick cannot be ticked (it won't allow me to tick it). Any ideas?
     
  5. macrumors regular

    TheBacklash

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #5
    Blank password on an Admin user=bad idea.
    Not only is it not safe, they are correct.. it causes other problems.

    You should always have a password..

    When you go into the Users & Groups, the lock int he bottom left of the pane should be locked. click it and probably just hit enter to unlock and allow changes.
    you should be able to enter a new password now.
     

Share This Page