Max Ram for G4 PowerBook? Leopard ready?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by zeeple, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    #1
    Hi all, thanks to the good users of this forum I have recently gotten my G4 1 GHz Powerbook back up and running. I would like to upgrade it to Leopard but I want to make sure it is not unwise to do so. According to apple.com it already meets (barely) the minimum requirements, but I want to beef up the RAM anyway. So I have two questions:

    1. Has anyone here upgraded their G4 pBook to Leopard?
    2. What is the max RAM I can install in it?

    Thanks!
     
  2. TEG
    macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    6,542
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    A PBG4 1Ghz should run Leopard fine (since even PBG4 400s will run it), just without many of the graphic changes, and you may want to make Time Machine a manual process. As for RAM, I believe the maximum of that level of PBG4 (both Ti and Alu) is 1GB.

    TEG
     
  3. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,067
    Location:
    Old York
    #3
    Depends whether it's an aluminium or titainium powerbook and how big the screen is if it's an al-book.

    If it's a tibook it's 1GB if it's a 15/17" albook it's 2GB and if it's a 12" albook it's 1.25GB

    Get at least 1GB.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,712
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #4
    Which 1GHz PowerBook G4 is this, specifically? 12"? 15" Titanium? 15" Aluminum? 17"? This will affect the answer.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    #5
    It is a 12" Aluminum 1 GHz PB. According to the specs, it currently has 512 RAM, 256 of which is built in. Which means it must have a 256 MB stick on the slot. If there is a 1 GB max on the RAM, and 256 built in, then buying a i GB stick would not work, correct?
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,712
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #6
    No, that model 12" PowerBook supports up to 1.25GB of RAM. You can buy a 1GB stick and put it in the user-accessible slot and be maxed out. Just make sure you get a stick of DDR PC2100 (DDR266) SODIMM, as that's the type of RAM that's compatible with that logic board.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    masse

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    MA/GA
    #7
    I have a 1.33 ghz model pb G4 and I have 1 gig of ram. I wish I had bought 2.

    Runs leopard great but I'm definitely not one to be patient with his computer. But I still love it and it works well for my needs.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    #8
    Right on folks. I bought a gig stick and am sitting prettily at 1.25 gigs now. Also I picked up the Leopard fampack and am installing now. Thanks for all the input.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    #9
    I have a PB 1.33 ghz 17" with 1 gb ram should I upgrade it to 1.5 gb before I install the Leopard? or should I make it to 2 gb, also where I can get cheap ram, the lower price I can get is $71 for 1 gb.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    323
    #10
    Leopard runs fine on my 12" 867 MHz PB with 640 MB RAM

    I installed Leopard on my 12" 867 MHz PB with 640 MB RAM last November and it has run it well since. Coverflow loads slow, and spotlight takes a couple seconds to load a query, but otherwise everything works well. I performed a clean install and ran into 2 snags. One, during the installation the Epson printer drivers locked up the installation process, so I had to start over. Two, after it was installed all songs in iTunes made popping noises for, oh, something like 5 hours, then suddenly stopped. After that hair pulling issue all was well.
     

Share This Page