max x1600 overclock with atitool

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by adiosk8, Nov 3, 2006.

  1. adiosk8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    #1
    I have been overclocking my x1600 128 meg to 460 / 500 when playing games, what is everyone else overclocking too? is that safe? the fans pretty much stay on when gaming...regardless of overclocking
     
  2. AlwaysRight macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    #2
    Interesting to know thanks. When i get my 17" i might try some overclocking. I will see how the temperature goes in windows first. What temps are you getting at those speeds? Did you try further and get artifacts or just stop there?
     
  3. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #3
    A word of caution... the overclock may be stable for now, but you could be damaging the components over time.
     
  4. 5150 Joker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Location:
    Davis, California
    #4

    Unlikely with the fan at full rpm. As long as it tests stable at a certain clock it will work fine for the long haul.
     
  5. ToastMaster macrumors regular

    ToastMaster

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    #5
    I personally wouldn't do it as my MBP gets plenty hot already when gaming, but go ahead...
     
  6. Machead III macrumors 6502

    Machead III

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Location:
    UK, France
    #6
    Software overclocking cannot damage components.

    460/500 was the highest I could get on my iMac, but I'm gonna try a little higher on a C2D MBP when I get one.

    The difference in game performance when you overclock is usually massive.
     
  7. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #7
    i would love to see benchmark results of the stock config and one test done at the overclocked setting to see how much of a difference it really is
     
  8. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    How does one go about overclocking?
     
  9. Hunts121 macrumors regular

    Hunts121

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #9
    the x1600 is underclocked (for heat and battery purposes most likely) in the MBP anyways...well other than the 17 inch one. I'm not sure about the iMac but I'm willing to bet its throttled down a bit in that too. I believe 450-475 MHz is the actual stock speed for it (or somewhere close to that).
     
  10. interfuse macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #10
    ATITOOLS with 15" C2D 2.33GHz

    Hey folks,

    I just purchased myself a nice new MBP 15" C2D 2.33GHz, with the 256MB ATi Mobility X1600.

    I have Windows XP Pro installed under Boot Camp, but when I launch ATITOOLS it says:

    Profile: Default (84.81 / 84.81)
    Core set to: 1314.55MHz
    Memory set to: 1399.36MHz

    Obviously these figures are incorrect. Has this happened to anyone else?

    Any help would be appreciated, cheers.

    -- UPDATE:
    Okay, so I removed version 0.26 & installed 0.25 beta 14. Now it seems to be recognising the correct speeds. Lists defaults as: GPU 423.00MHz, Mem 450.00MHz. I can also change the speed now, whereas I couldn't before.

    One thing I have noticed though in both versions, is that ATITOOLS says Active Pipelines: 4, but the X1600 has 12 pipelines. hmm

    Version 0.26 also lists: Device ID: 71C5 / Chip Name: M56
    0.25 beta 14 lists: Device ID AND Chip Name as: 71C5.
     
  11. Nightkrawler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #11
    My maximum stable (tested for 2.5 hours 3DMark 06 looping) overclock with atitool 0.25 beta 14 is 576/567.
    Im getting a score of 2418 with it, i think thats quite nice :)

    Other benchmarks (WinXP, with overclock):
    Superpi 2M: 54.453s
    Superpi 8M: 4m 43.219s
    3DMark06 CPU Score: 2027 points
    3DMark05: 5285 points
     
  12. Felldownthewell macrumors 65816

    Felldownthewell

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Portland
    #12
    I can usually get up to 450/450 in my CD 15in, but I just leave it at 400/400, the speed the x1600 on factory settings runs at. I just don't want to damage my machine :eek:
     
  13. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #13
    Hahaha....good one.

    It's not "software overclocking"...it's hardware overclocking, you just happen to be able to control it through windows rather than through something like a BIOS or firmware.

    ANY overclocking can do damage....
     
  14. Nightkrawler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #14
    Actually its very unlikely that you actually destroy the gpu by software overclocking, the computer crashes or reboots before something bad would happen.
     
  15. thebeephaha macrumors 6502

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    #15
    My original MBP 15" is at like 292/300 stock or something ridiculous like that, and I am able to get it to 400/400, any higher and my FPS actually drops in the ATI Tool test window.

    My friends new C2D 15" is at like 425/450 stock.
     
  16. findnemo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #16
    ^^ Seriously? I knew I should have waited. I havn't been following the new c2d but how faster is the new macbook pro's in gaming?
     
  17. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #17
    If the increase in FPS is not that big I wouldn't risk damage to my Mac doing some hinkey stuff like overclocking.

    It is not like our eyes can tell the difference between 25 FPS and 30 FPS isn't it?
     
  18. interfuse macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #18
    I clocked my 15" C2D 256MB X1600 to 515/575 last night. Worked without any artifacts, but i didn't really notice much difference in performance while playing Day of Defeat Source (does anyone else play this on their Mac?).

    I set my fans at the max speed of 6,000rpm prior to overclocking and playing games under Windows.
     
  19. Felldownthewell macrumors 65816

    Felldownthewell

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Portland
    #19
    Honestly, I see major increases in performance. Basically it is the difference between being able to play F.E.A.R and not being able to play it, and between medium and high graphics settings in Half Life 2 (at similar framerates).

    Of course you can damage your computer with it, but if done carefully and correctly, you can get maximum graphics output with minimum risk. It all comes down to preferance and need; if you need the boost (and I do since mine is factory clocked at 297/300) then go for it. If you don't, then don't take the risk just for fun.
     
  20. Machead III macrumors 6502

    Machead III

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Location:
    UK, France
    #20
    Muahaha, I laugh at your puny clock speeds! Behold, for I game at... 500/600!

    I have recently been crashing like mad, and had thought the card was freaking out at those speeds, but it turns out it's just Medieval 2 being on crashy SOB in Campaign mode - all other games run 100% fine 100% of the time.

    At 500/600 it's hard to tax this baby, with the exception of Medieval 2, which runs like an absolute turd, especially in battles, where with low settings it can barely push 15fps with an image quality not 1/100th of Half Life 2 running maxed out at a few trillion fps or whatever it is on my MacBook Pro.

    It's a good job the actual game is sublime.
     
  21. Nightkrawler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #21
    well post benachmarks! (superpi, 3dmark06, 3dmark05)
     
  22. bcavanau macrumors member

    bcavanau

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Troy, MI
    #22
    superpi isn't going to tell you anything, as this deals specifically with the video card, not the system processor.
     
  23. Nightkrawler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #23
    thats true, but i want to know if there is something that i didnt do right by comparing the score with others.
    Technically 3dmark isnt going to show how good the computer act in a game, because its a synthetic benchmark.
    If we want to compare "real world" scores, we would have to try ingame benchmarks with exactly same video settings (like the timedemo option in "F.E.A.R.")
     
  24. thebeephaha macrumors 6502

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    #24
    Yep I was a little in shock as well, that sad part is, my friend already has a kick ass gaming desktop so its not like hes going to be using his C2D MBP for much other than internet surfing!!! :eek:
     
  25. deXiusII macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    #25
    Does anyone knows what is the default gpu clock speed for 17" MBP C2D? I think i found somewhere that it is 470/470 and if the top 15" 2.33 is clocked at 425/450 that means same thing happend as with revision A, where 17" model had faster default clock. Is this all because 17" MBP can cool better than 15" model? :confused: Any coments...
     

Share This Page