Maximum G4 Bus Speed

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by job, Mar 1, 2003.

  1. job macrumors 68040

    job

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    in transit
    #1
    Does anyone know what the maximum bus speed of any known G4 CPU is?

    I am looking to upgrade by the end of the summer and will have almost $2500 to spend ($500 going to a Viewsonic LCD) and I am considering purchasing the newest towers available then.

    Will the G4 still be stuck at a 133~167Mhz bus, or is there any possibility that it will be scaled to 200Mhz or higher?
     
  2. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #2
    thanks for the terminus post, and you have the bus speed down. a future revision g4 7457 is supposed to go to 200 but that wont be in production till 4th qtr this year or later according to the post i saw from motorola. 167 looks like it for the 1.25 and 1.42. Lets all pray apple comes out with the 970 or at least announces it then you should have a nice double pumped 450 = 900 bus.
     
  3. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #3
    I saw an article about overclocking the G4 Bus speed to from 133 to 167.

    The person said he was gonna try when he got the 1.42 to get 167 to a higher mutiplier number.
     
  4. samsflagdrummer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
  5. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #5
    depends on model , i have a 733 that i turned into a 800. thought it would be a nice safe and easy bump(sort of like what motorola has given us through the years) and it was. Mostly my apps opened with less bounces and i picked up a few frame rates on games.
     
  6. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #6
    processors on macs are timed the same way other chips are, so overclocking is basically the same regardless of platforms.

    except the macs that already have heat issues.

    pnw
     
  7. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #7
    Nah Win can change there BIOS settings and overclock it that way.
     
  8. howard macrumors 68020

    howard

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    #8
    how do you do that?? would it be easy/safe with my 700mhz ibook??
     
  9. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #9
    You have to do some research and also i wouldnt tell anyone to do something like this unless they have some electronics background ( i do ) and were not afraid that if they killed the cpu they could afford a new one,motherboard or machine. accelerate your macintosh may be a good place to start or you may want to make a new post here asking if anyone has done this , how it went etc. Caution you are about to enter a no spin zone.
     
  10. samsflagdrummer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    #10
    But what app would you use? Or would you use terminal? And is accelerate your macintosh an application?
     

Share This Page