Maximum RAM in a 2011 MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by fantismo, Aug 8, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    #1
    Hi guys
    What's the maximum ram I can put in one... The store says 8 gigs. I say... Oh Relly? Can't we pop that up a tad?

    :)
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Location:
    Nanoose Bay, BC, Canada
    #2
    You can put in 16GB if you have about $1300 right now.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    You can put in 16 if you want to spend $1400
     
  4. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    You can find specs on all Apple products:
    • By visiting EveryMac.com
    • By using Mactracker
    • By entering your serial number here to find specs for your model. (Be aware that some models can use more RAM than Apple shows. Check EveryMac or MacTracker to verify.)
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #5
    Like others have said.

    You can put in 16 if you've got more money than sense.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    #7
    The first plage is all desktop RAM. No, you won't get $1500 memory for ~$300 or so. :D

    Suggest you follow the instructions and check everymac or look up your SN on apple's site to get the right specification, and possibly even understand the difference vs desktop and notebook RAM, or you're going to wind up with a useless expense.
    hint - pin count.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    gorskiegangsta

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #8
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    #9
    Those are too big, you need 204 pin.

    Edit: beaten to it!
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    #10
    Hey, it went down, now 'only' $1249. :D
    If we could only remove that pesky first digit.. :)
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    #11
    I have to ask, what do you need 16GB of memory for?
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #12
    e-peen, obviously.
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #13
    Oh please. 8GB is limiting me at this point. At 16GB, these new MBPs are very close to desktop replacements.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/1333DDR3S16P

    This stuff has dropped significantly in the last few weeks. By years end, it will be getting close to $500. I would take a look again at the end of the year.
     
  14. macrumors 68030

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #14
    I'm very intrigued to know how 8GB is limiting you at the moment.
     
  15. macrumors 68040

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #15
    16Gb is the unofficial max to date as per OWC, but Apple states 8Gb.

    I have 8Gb though and have never had it all used up lol
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    bizzle

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #16
    Down to $1179.99!
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #17
    Hoping the price of the 16GB sticks drop. Not that I need them, far from it. It just tickles my inner nerd to know that I 'do' have that memory (When the price drops that is..)

    You could pop in 16GB, 2x8 Modules. Though it's pretty pricy like the others said at 1k+. Though, two or so years ago 2x4 GB modules used to cost 1k. Hahah.
     
  18. macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #18
    Really? I do some work, then I run out of RAM. This is chill work time:
     

    Attached Files:

  19. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    #19
    What are you doing to you Mac to max out your RAM like that? Running Photoshop in Windows via Parallels so you can work on a 20 MP photo?
     
  20. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    Stockport, UK
    #20
    If you're working in an environment which requires you using your mac to run virtual machines the memory it easily eaten up!

    I regularly run my mbp just using mail, firefox, teamviewer then 3 or 4 virtual machines all at the same time with about 1 to 2GB allocated to each

    I wish I had 16GB instead of the 8GB I currently have as I do experience slow downs and slight stuttering, and I know the extra ram will make the difference.
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    #21
    Exactly. I have no idea why someone modded your post down, I guess someone who doesn't do real work on a computer doesn't understand it's not the case for everyone?

    I was going to including a screenshot with my own current memory usage, seems you had the same idea. :) This is pretty typical, attached. 'Free' RAM on OSX isn't really accurate, as there is caching happening that detracts from free, and inactive is essentially 'free' RAM waiting to be freed fully...you can check active page-outs with:
    sar -g 15 99
    or similar (will check every 15 seconds for active pageouts, etc.).
    (or use top, or..)

    Multiple VMs and a reasonably high number of active non-lightweight apps needed up constantly = you're going to be swapping sooner or later. I'll be watching the cost of that 16GB kit as well. It's nowhere near worth it to me at current pricing, but that changes once it drops the price in half or more.

    I'm actively paging out at the moment, and reducing even inactive to near 0 and inducing more pageouts is a simple vm launch away.. :D
     

    Attached Files:

  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #22
    I am reaching the limits of 40 Gigs or RAM. Where can I get 24 GB DIMMs for MBP :)
     

    Attached Files:

  23. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #23
    A good SSD storing your OS, apps and page file is going to be a much cheaper fix to your paging issue than splurging well over a grand on 16GBs worth of SODIMMs... :)

    While more RAM would be better from an absolute performance standpoint, I don't think it'd be that much better that it'd be worth the huge amount of money you need to spend.
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    thinkinblue613

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #24
    Wow, I'd rather buy an iMac or Air than get 16GB of RAM these days. I can understand why the price is high, but I still think the price is way too steep just for memory.
     
  25. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    #25
    Bah, you've got plenty of RAM free and inactive, though. :)

    What's really disturbing is just the pricing differences of desktop vs laptop RAM - higher density chips on the sodimms of course, but it's not like the technology there is anything truly 'special.' Lower production numbers of course, but just wow:
    16GB 2x8GB DDR3-1333 240 pin desktop ram - $130-$200
    16GB 204 pin DDR3-1333 SO-DIMM - $1200-ish.

    At least the 8GB kits have converged to roughly the same pricing.
    Looks like i'll be waiting 6-12 months and tracking the pricing. I've bought pretty 'overpriced' RAM upgrades for laptops previously, but I'll be waiting a while on 16GB. It should at least cut in half if not more within a year (hopefully!).
     

Share This Page