Maxtor OneTouch II 250GB Query

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by marknicholls, Jun 21, 2005.

  1. marknicholls macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #1
    Hey

    I have just purchase a Maxtor OneTouch II 250GB External HDD, and i have the following questions for anyone out there that also has one:

    It is suppose to be "Whisper Quiet" But when i run the diagnostic test that comes with the HDD, it makes 2 very loud "growning" sounds, is this normal?

    and once it has completed a copying process, it makes a short 1 second "beep" and i am unsure if this is the HDD or a small internal speaker in the caddie....is this also normal?

    Can anyone get the onetouch button to work on Tiger?

    When you have finished using your drive and you unmount it, do you tuen the power of using with switch on the back? or fo you just keep it on but unmounted with the power light flashing?

    Many Thanks
     
  2. Eniregnat macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #2
    I think that every question deserves at least one answer.

    I don't have a One Touch, but I recomended one to a friend and they love it.

    You need to load the drivers and tools from the provided CD.

    Try Here at Maxtor - Support

    I think it comes down to RTM- Read The Manual.

    Mac Quick Start Guide - Notice- Insert Install CD.
     
  3. marknicholls thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #3
    lol thanks - i have installed the software but the button wont respond....i love the way you assumed i am stupid and didnt install the software
     
  4. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #4
    There is a Retrospect Express update for Tiger. You need the patch.

    I prefer Super Duper, Google it. I have the exact same drive, but 300GB, and yes, those are normal sounds.
     
  5. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #5
    Yes, I have that drive too. No I can't get the button to work either, but I'll try the Tiger patch for it. I don't think the MaxtorOneTouch Button Monitor program likes Tiger though. :(
     
  6. Eniregnat macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #6
    No insult was ment for you.

    I wasn’t thinking you were stupid. I only posted it as you hadn't noted what you did, and nobody else had come up with a response yet. Often, myself included, people just don't read the instructions. I deal with it as a studio administrator. I do want to hear if the patch fixes the problem, as I recommend these drives to people that have problems backing up their data regularly.

    Here is stupid. At work we have a few large networked NASs, well over 2Tb worth of data. Each of the RAIDs is also mirrored, for protection. I left for and 'extended holiday' long weekend, and this was my coworker’s update when I returned.

    Guy-"One of the servers was making a lot of noise, but I fixed it."
    Me-"Good. What was wrong? Did you call the Help Desk?"
    Guy-"No didn't need to call the Help Desk."
    Me-"Ok..." I opened the server room to see all five drives blinking red as the primary server made a sound much as an angry wookie does.
    He closed the door. That was the fix to the noisy server. That's stupid!
     
  7. Mengoxon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    #7
    Having the same problem - my OneTouch button does not work with Tiger, even though I did install the update by Retrospect 6.0.212
     
  8. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #8
    Are you using USB?

    If so, according to this the one touch button isn't supported.
     
  9. Mengoxon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    #9
    thanks for pointing that out - I use Firewire, what about the others?
    Can anyone say if OneTouch button, Firewire and 10.4 work for him?
     

Share This Page