Maya on MBP

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by Boika, Nov 3, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #1
    How would maya run on the low end macbook pro?
     
  2. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #2
    It would depend how complex your models are: I used to run it on an 800 MHz G3 with no issues at all, but I was using nice simple models :)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #3
    Ok thanks, im only a beginner so i cant imagine me doing anything photo realistic anyways. I just didnt want to fork out the money and have something that lags horribly.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Pukey

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Gekkostate
    #4
    I'm also interested in this question. What about Maya on a high end MBP?
    (2.6GHz, 4GB RAM?) Would it work ok for animation?
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    RichP

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Location:
    Motor City
    #5
    It runs great on my very early production macbook pro.

    Unless you have really complex models (I should say scenes) it will run beautifully.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    snickelfritz

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    #6
    There is a downloadable demo for Maya.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Pukey

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Gekkostate
    #7
    Thanks!
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Pukey

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Gekkostate
    #8
    I'm thinking of taking Animation Mentor. The models they use (at least in the first few terms) I think are simple enough. I might have to ask them more about this though. However, I'm not sure how comfortable they feel recommending hardware, so that's why I thought to ask here first.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #9
    Try out an application called Blender. It's free, open source and it's good enough to make a full lenght animated film on ; http://peach.blender.org/

    I realise that Maya is a good bit more resourse intensive than Blender would be but try Blender out and see how it runs and then you can use that as a comparison, I guess.

    Blender works fine on my 2.16ghz, 1 gb RAM Macbook. Granted, that I'm not making anything detailed......
     
  10. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #10
    maya works fine on my mb

    it is free full version too! only limitations are cant be used for commercial and uses only one core

    so if you just want to learn maya, this is the way to go.

    blenders interface is well harder than maya's to get used to for me at least
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #11
    when i learned maya at uni it was on 800mhz emacs, so yourll be fine ( we got quad g5s just before i left lol.
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    fluidedge

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #12
    I run it on a G4 1.2GHz iBook :)eek:)!

    It runs ok - but i can't wait until i get my new Mac Pro!!! It'll fly!

    I would say a low end MBP will run it fine, but if you're thinking of buying, for gods sake wait 3 more days.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Pukey

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Gekkostate
    #13
    Hey everyone, thanks for your posts. Any information I can get is really helpful. I have a friend who uses Blender and also recommended that to me. I haven't tried it yet, but I agree that is a good idea. And the fact that it's free is really cool. That is really kind of the folks that developed it.
    The free Maya also sounds like a good idea. The only thing is I think I heard that anything you render on it has a "watermark", is that correct? If this is so, I imagine while I could learn with it, I probably couldn't use it to make a demo reel for the studios out there.
    The more I think about it, while Animation Mentor I hear is very reputable and I believe they even help with job placement (though don't quote me on that, but check their site), it is also very expensive. I wonder if it would be possible to learn Maya on my own (regarding animation). I have been working in animation for a while, and while learning that it is always going to be an ongoing process, most of my focus would be on learning the 3D platform. Has anyone here taught themselves? My plan would be to buy a good 3D model and go from there with animation. I do lean towards Maya only because I hear it's the industry standard.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Pukey

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Gekkostate
    #14
    Oh yeah! I'm definitely waiting till after MWSF!
    ...that something in the air better be my new MBP!
     

Share This Page